We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice for a simple late lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Francais - CLOSED

Bistro Francais
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wisconsin Ave & 31 Street
Transit: Rosslyn or Foggy Bottom-GWU (Orange, Blue lines)
sherwood park, Alberta
Level Contributor
292 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“good choice for a simple late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had the champagne brunch ( i chose grilled fish and spinach florentine) and my other half had onion soup and a green salad. it is admittedly hard to go wrong with such simple choices, but this is where the ability of the kitchen shows through in my opinion. the onion soup was very good, with a wonderful sweet taste to the soup. the salad was very average. my fish was done nicely, and the spinach florentine was not too creamy but also not too dry. service was good and prompt, but then the restaurant was also only half full as it was 2 pm.

you can't really put down a 3.5 rating, so i give it a 4.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    85
    44
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“average but sweet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a sweet little place and the day I was there for lunch it was certainly popular. They seem to be doing some rennovation work, so I overlooked the exposed wiring above me head. The waiting staff were a mixed bunch, but mine couldn't have been more delightful. Food is decidedly average but it has a lovely and relaxing atmosphere - rare in this part of town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TWP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pricey food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

It's an average restaurant. Even though the food is not bad, it isn't that good either for the price they charge you. Basic things like presentation of the food are forgotten... they simply put a steak and the Mcdonalds-like fries in my plate and brought the sauce separately. Even though the food tasted good, there were some concerns about it, for example, the steak I ordered was not uniformly cooked and the wine sauce I asked was not that good. My wife's plate was not very appealing, even though it had great flavors it lacked some color and texture.

The other thing that is a concern is the staff, I almost had to look for the hostess in order to be seated. And once seated, it took a while for the waitress come and check our table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wrong choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Dined there yesterday. Did not like the food at all: McDonald's type potato chips came with my tasteless chicken breast; my husband's fish was simply terrible. The quality and presentation of food reminds fast-food; prices are as of a decent restaurant.
Staff is odd (which could be a good thing, especially for tourists).
Interior is beautiful and creates the right atmosphere of a french bistro.
I would recommend to visit the place for a glass of wine or a cup of coffee - but not for dining.

Helpful?
1 Thank LiudaK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Almost as good as a trip to Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

An absolutely wonderful little restaurant in Georgetown with a friendly staff and a masterful chef. A delicate salad, and garlic happy escargots were a great prelude to the duck and the steak - both of which were superb and just as rare we asked for. Not inexpensive, but fair value and well worth it. Atmosphere is authentic - not oppressive. If you can't get to Paris for dinner, just come here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Francais also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing