We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, the Thai doesn't measure up”
Review of Bangkok One - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bangkok One
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sadly, the Thai doesn't measure up”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I always get chicken panang in Thai restaurants and theirs is not good. Sorry to say. Nice staff but the panang curry was not good....it almost separated and tasted more like a peanut sauce for satay, but with less flavor. Great location though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne2StLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Favorite Curry Noodles in Washington DC”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have lunched at Bangkok One countless times as it a close walk to where I work on 15th and K. I love Bangkok One for their food, service, and "audibility" quality. By that, I mean you can sit in a booth and have a conservation you can hear. Plus, it's reasonably priced. My favorite on the menu is curry noodles with shrimp and chicken. The noodles are perfectly cooked every time and just delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro Area
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Prices, & Good Service”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What more can you ask for! I'm a picky eater and was reluctant to go here when a co-worker suggested it for lunch. I went and have been back 5 times within the last three months. They cook your food to order so you can add and remove whatever ingredient you like. Prices range $7-$10 for most dishes!! The portions are great too. The first & second time I went I ate everything because the food was so good. After that I vowed to separate it when I received it so I can stick with my new, 'portion control' habit. So, I enjoyed it for lunch and then for dinner!! Service is usually quick where you can expect to get in and out within 30 minutes, if you need to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClassyJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai Food!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a very good meal here with the family. Really enjoyed the chicken with cashews, spring rolls and chicken satay. Also tried shrimp with garlic sauce. I would go back if I am visiting in this area again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraS1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cheap place to eat in downtown area”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This restaurant has a prime location: on 14 and K St NW. There are dishes that are under $10 which is hard to find in a sit down restaurant in the area. I've been there for lunch many times and never had a bad experience in terms of food quality. The portion is not huge I must say. Services can be slow so if you are in the hurry, you'd need to remind the staff a few times.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinaWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok One also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing