We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Coffeehouse with the best "Cake-cups" in the District”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baked and Wired

Baked and Wired
Ranked #1 of 87 Dessert in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Coffeehouse with the best "Cake-cups" in the District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The location is well placed off the main tourist street - M Street - in Georgetown, just south of the Chesapeake & Ohio Canal (a National Historical Park- kill two sites with one visit!), so you won't have to wait in a ludicrously long line for delicious baked goods - really excellent, delicious baked goods, made from scratch from the best ingredients. The wonderful staff are always cheerful, and fun, and welcoming. The vibe is fun, and there are a number of places to sit and eat - even a few tables outdoors. Baked goods range from the aforementioned "cake-cups" in at least a dozen flavors daily, to muffins, scones, cookies, biscotti, (huge!) cookie-bars, brownies, loaf/pound cakes (zucchini, pumpkin, banana), coffee cake, actual cakes, (OMG – so delicious) pies, to-die-for buttermilk biscuits (the goat cheese/rosemary is so light as to melt away into deliciousness without any effort), AND quiche (!) in four delicious flavors including a manly variety with bacon and sausage. And thus, everyone should find something that will make their day in Georgetown that much better. Visit and leave a better person for it...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    198
    72
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Better than any cupcake place in DC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We love going to B&W especially after a long run on a weekend, and treat ourselves to a couple cupcakes and cappuccino. I'm glad people flock to other cupcake places in Georgetown, actually, because it's crowded enough at B&W and we'd like it to stay somewhat of a secret. :) Cupcakes are creative and delicious, nicely presented in single glass domes. Just as delicious are the other desserts: cookies, hand pies, bar cookies, etc. We've tried just about everything and nothing was just average. I can't even say we have a favorite, since it depends on whether you prefer savory, sweet, fruity, etc. Try one of each!

Our only complaint has been the inappropriate decorations (painting of bart simpson smoking pot with bloodshot eyes) and signs put on the counter by the staff. For example, one week they had a tip jar out that said "help pay for my birth control pills" or something like that. I think that's way out of line for a place whose customers include children. But we addressed this with the owners who were apologetic and immediately made a change.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rushnspkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best cupcake and coffee shop in DC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Super huge cupcakes. They have so many fun flavors. If tou are visiting georgetown this shop is a must! I love the laid back atmosphere. Coffees are great too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank American-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing cupcakes....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went there today and was worth the mile walk. Amazing produce, very difficult to choose what to have. I can see why it's number one on here. There was at least thirty types of cupcakes, cakes and biscuits. A must visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awesome Cupcakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

These cupcakes were probably the best cupcakes I've ever had. They tasted homemade and not like they were out of a box. The icing was a sweet but not too sweet. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedCM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baked and Wired also viewed

 

Been to Baked and Wired? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing