We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fuego salsa”

Alero Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #611 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fuego salsa”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service. They have a really spicy salsa called fuego salsa, most try it. Prices are okay. Atmosphere is fine, but I liked the mariachi deco.

Helpful?
Thank Patricio C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    42
    23
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester England
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our 2nd visit, and it didn't disappoint. We had a superb meal, the food was amazing and the service was excellent.
Hope I will visit DC again so I can enjoy another meal!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gnomemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We arrivd in DC and wanted someplace casual and inexpensive. Arrived at Alero at about 4 pm. We were promptly seated, and chips and salsa were brought to the table. The chips were warm the salsa was so, so. We had the chimichanga. The food was hot but not spicy, and the taste was average. Our bill was around $26 for 2 chimi dinners, coffee and soda. Bottom line average food for fair price for DC.

Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty good Mexican food for DC!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I live right around the corner from Alero and have eaten here twice. I am originally from the Philly area and have been spoiled by amazing authentic Mexican restaurants, so I was a little bummed when we moved to DC and I found out that there really is no large Mexican population and therefore not really any good Mexican restaurants! We gave Alero a try anyways though and it was pretty good! We have gotten the vegetable fajitas and burrito, and I much prefer the burrito but the enchiladas were good too. Chips and salas were good, plátanos fritos were delicious, beer was well priced for DC, and the sopapillas were pretty good too. I also think it's a cute little restaurant and has a lot of atmosphere to it, so it's worth a visit! Both times we had super nice waiters and the food came out very quickly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good people watching, terrible food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I live around the corner from this place and the food is truly terrible. Go here for the cheesy nightclub atmosphere or to sit outside and get drunk while watching people walk by this busy street corner, but eat dinner somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing