We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luigi's has had it's time....better options in DC.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Luigi's Restaurant - CLOSED

Luigi's Restaurant
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: M & 19th
Transit: Farragut West and Dupont Circle Metros
Description: What originally brought Luigi's its fame was PIZZA and, in fact, it is thought that Luigi's introduced continually upscalled and expanded its menu and today, under the ownership of Corrado Bruzzo ,who inherited the business from his wife's family,it features fresh homemade pastas, veal, chicken and seafood dishes as well as the old standby, pizza still serving from the same original location. Luigi's prides it self on serving authentic Italian food in an old-fashioned Trattoria type atmosphere. Famous Luigi's bringing the best of Italy to you.Serving the Nation’s Capital Since 19431132-19th Street NW, Washington DCWe Deliver for freeWe have a private banquet room available for any occasion! It can accommodate from 20 to 50 to 80 guests. For more information regarding private parties for you office, friends or family contact our banquet manager.
Boston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Luigi's has had it's time....better options in DC.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Luigi’s, a DC institution, was only OK this time. After reading the positive TA reviews, decided to take friends. Ambience was old-school Italian, including red and white checkered tablecloths. Made a reservation several days in advance. When we showed up, no one was available to help us and then we were told there was no record of our reservation. After a lengthy wait, a table became available. Service was average and the waiter struggled with English. Food started off great – cheesy garlic bread was a winner. Bottle of Chianti was run-of-the-mill for the price ($38). Entrees were no better than we could make at home. Pasta entrees were over-served with pasta with no substance. We went elsewhere for dessert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaddyFatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    26
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A nice affordable spot in D.C.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here on a Saturday afternoon and it was pretty good. The atmosphere reminded me of a street cafe in Florence, Italy other than being in the business district of D.C. The service was prompt. The menu was reasonable priced. The food was excellent. I had the pesto pizza and my wife had angel hair pasta in olive oil. We also had the fried calamari for an appetizer. The portions were large enough that we both took half our lunch to go. We both agreed if in the area we would eat there again, but just not sure if it would be worth a special trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familyfun5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Respite from Hurricane Sandy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having been hotel bound for two days courtesy of Hurricane Sandy, the Bulldog spirit took over and we decided to venture forth into the 'eye of the storm'. Washington was like a ghost town, streets empty of pedestrians and cars. Taxis were available with a 100% surcharge apparently, though we didn't see any. Still we decided to battle against the wind and eventually came upon the Famous Luigi's, the lights were on so we decided to give it a try!

Once inside, it was like being in another world. The staff were very welcoming, the red and white check table cloths added warmth and comfort.

There were four men drinking wine and one single (female) diner so the atmosphere was, understandably, subdued.

The tables were quite tightly packed together, not a problem on this visit, but would probably be a little uncomfortable on a very busy night.

The food was tasty and the pasta fresh. There is a very good wine list and a decent choice of beers and spirits. Prices were reasonable.

If in DC again, would like to re-visit to experience this restaurant in 'normal' circumstances

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intersylvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Like dining in an Italian family kitchen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

At the recommendation of our hotel concierge, our family of 4 (including 2 teenage boys) walked to Luigi's for dinner after a long day of the museums and monuments. We are glad we did. It was lively and busy and the tiny tables were all squeezed together. The staff was energetic and so enthusiastic about the food, that we agreed to everything they suggested. The food was really good - authentic and fresh. They were busy and mixed some things up ...but we were enjoying ourselves so much that it didn't even matter. So if you are in DC and staying north of the White House - you have to try this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dis-spirited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Order the homemade pasta. Family friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Delicious homemade pasta dish - ordered Agnolotti Di Formaggio and it was so tasty! Unfortunately others at the table ordered pizza which was piping got while the pasta was not, almost thought about sending it back because it was a bit cold. Pizza was good, but if we go back I'd stick with the pasta.

House salad was minimal, but house vinegarette was delicious!

Very busy for a Wed night - but had a reservation and was seated very quickly. Very grumpy server was probably the worst part of the meal, but wouldn't not go back because of that.

Definitely yummy! Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iamnotcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing