We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Lebanese Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neyla - CLOSED

Neyla
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Cross street: Wisconsin Ave. & N Street
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went to Neylas with some friends during my last visit to DC. The food is always good. We ended up ordering, Mouhammara instead of baba ghannoug for a change and weren't disappointed. Lahmajeen and falafel were also good. I ordered lamb chops and they were really good- very succulent and juicy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Authentic, fresh Lebanese cuisine at a neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fresh, authentic and creative Lebanese cuisine are the hallmarks of this neighborhood gem in the Georgetown area of Washington, DC. All the traditional Lebanese staples are here (hummus, babaganouj,fatoush, taboulieh, falafel and much more), served beautifully. The mezze menu is extraordinary - beyond the "usual" Middle Eastern fare in the U.S. Freshly made, piping hot pita is served, and the kebabs are prepared over an open coal fire in the heart of the dining room. Service was meticulous, attentive and very friendly on our Sunday night occasion. House-made desserts, including baklava and kanafe, were outstanding. A nice wine list compliments the service. The dining room is very welcoming.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Projournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
“Who was the waiter?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went to Neyla's last night based on trip advisor reviews and a recommendation from a local as we had just arrived in town. When we sat down, we were given a tasty crispy bread, dip and olives which was then whisked away as we were reaching for our last bite. Although several people were scurrying around and stopping by the table, we could never quite figure out who our waiter was. Two to three different people came by and asked...did we want drinks, would we like to order...you get the picture. We ordered the "tasting for two" and the only tasty item on the plate was the Baba Ghannoug. The chicken was like a chicken mcnugget that had been grilled, the meat kibbeh was not edible. We never did find out who our waiter was. I had to flag someone down to get another glass of wine. Many other diners seemed confused and aggravated. Just before leaving we made the interesting trip to the bathroom which was just outside of the kitchen. Waiting outside the bathroom you could see everyone scurrying around the kitchen perhaps taking the items out of the freezer to be given to the faux griller out in the dining room? We will not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CandYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant, yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Shared the "lebanese tasting" as a starter with my husband, which was more than enough. Delicious home made bread - still warm when served and tasty mezzes.
Continued with sharing a plate of Neyla Lamb Chops. Cooked exactly how I wanted, crusty on the outside but still juicy inside.
Kids (age 5 and 8) shared a plate of Chicken Shish Taouk and it was more than enough for them. They came with Almond Rice.
Service attentive.

All in all a very nice dinner and I would return if I could!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Astrid72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere, tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Visited for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. Had a cozy corner spot (nice and romantic!). We shared a hummos appetizer and the mixed grill. LOVED the meat - the charcoal grill in the restaurant was so flavorful. This was a great place to people watch - saw some people dressed like movie stars, others more casual. We were wished happy anniversary upon arriving, had a nice conversation about Lebanon with our server, Wael, and were delightfully surprised to have two glasses of complimentary champagne.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaeldurmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neyla also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing