We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back”

The Palm Washington DC
Reserve with OpenTable
The Palm Washington DC is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #137 of 3,215 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Connecticut Ave/ K Street
Cross street: N & M Street
Transit: Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We keep coming back”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Palm is something that for us only works in DC, really. We tried the one in London, and while it is the same in many ways, it actually isn't. Maybe because it doesn't really fit into the London context. We love the over the top portraits of ex-presidents on the wall, the very friendly and efficient service, the 'only-in-America' sized great steaks, the creamed spinach, and the whole atmosphere. We make a point of visiting every time we are in DC, and it isn't often enough. We have been to the BLT a few times as well, and while the food is equally good, the atmosphere and space just isn't the same.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    99
    32
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food Superior Serivce”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

How many times has a great meal been dulled by drab service. The Palm DC gives a complete dining experience. The lobster melts in our mouth and the servers treat you like fine delicate china. The prices may be steep but the food and service are well worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2CDaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Noisy restaurant, good food .”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The food is very good .. all of us we enjoyed it . We had lobster, ribeye, steak with black pepper , all very tasty ... . The attention from the staff was OK nothing special . The place is nice, but too noisy , was hard to follow the conversation . Highly priced . I will not go back, a restaurant is not just about the food, its about lot of components missing here ...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food albeit pricey”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

During my recent short trip to Washington D.C., I had dinner twice at The Palm. Food is excellent but has its price. The restaurant looks like a quiet cosy place from the outside, but those little tables at the window are presumably only for those who made reservations well in advance. Inside there is a HUGE back area which has a kind of Oktoberfest feel, not what I initially expected, but in itself harmonious. I can recommend the Surf 'n' Turf, a good portion of fillet which comes with half a lobster for around 55 USD.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food. Big Prices!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The meal was excellent from the Palm. Having never been to one of these restaurants before we were unsure of what to expect. Service wasn't particularly great but the food was excellent. Portion sizes are enormous and certainly not a la carte as described. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his steak and would recommend the wine.
We will not be visiting again as the atmosphere wasn't great, but the food did not disappoint. Just make sure you are aware before you go that most dishes start at more than $50 once you add in any vegetables which don't come as standard....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mellovesshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palm Washington DC also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The Palm Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing