We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and style”

Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier
Reserve with OpenTable
Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: 24th and 25th
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro
Description: Since 1999, Chef Wiedmaier infuses his Belgian heritage into Marcel's elegant haute French flagship restaurant. Regularly topping the best-of-lists in the nation's capital, in 2011 and 2012, it was rated the top restaurant for food by Zagat as well as one of the top five restaurants for service.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Service and style”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We chose this restaurant by internet from its positive reviews which were a fair representation of our own experience. It is the sum of the little things that distinguishes a great restaurant from an average one. Service is personal, the courses are delivered together and the wine is the correct temperature. The menu has some original offerings which are properly presented. So it is at Marcel's. My wife's oysters had different and well considered toppings, my trio of tartar Tuna, Salmon and another was accompanied with a couple of strawberries and our main courses of roast breast of duck for my wife and my quail were not overly large and were delicious. The wine list is extensive and not outrageously priced. A ver professional, thoughtful and enjoyable presentation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    88
    33
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in DC”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I live in the DC area and have tried many of the top-rated restaurants over the past two decades. I made it back to Marcel's recently and would rate it the best overall. The service (at all levels) was extraordinary - friendly, efficient, helpful, informative. And the food was delicious. My wife and I had the multi-course tasting menu - ten or 12 dishes between us. Small portions but absolutely plenty of food. Most courses were excellent to exceptional. A couple were good to very good (cheese course). We both thought the souffles were the best we've ever had. Very nice surroundings, comfortable spacing with a pleasant buzz but not too loud.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This Restaurant Deserves Its Rating”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A friend picked this restaurant for a business dinner. Great spot. The best part was the fabulous service. Our waiter was wonderful about explaining the menu in a helpful, practical way. We had great fun picking among the 7 courses and unlike most restaurants which insist the table order as a group, Marcel's encouraged individuality. I had the tartare, scallop, halibut and cheese sampler. All wonderful and beautifully presented. The dinner also moved at a very nice pace. I did not know that this restaurant was so positively reviewed but I concur 100%. A great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, great big bill.......”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I love this place, and so do many of our friends. The service is impecable, just terrific, however it can on occasion feel almost stuffy and overbearing. The wine steward, Jonathan, is a scream, he is very entertaining. The food is simply outstanding, classic French dishes mixed with some Italian and other European dishes. The wine list is extensive, as you would expect, and some of the prices will take your breath away. Speaking of, the prices. Better cash in some of your stock options before saddling up the horse to come here. is it worth it? Hmmm, probablly, there's really no place else in DC that does it as well as Marcels. A great place for romantic dinners, small parties, etc. Also, come here for an early pre-theater dinner before heading over to the Kennedy Center, and they will have their driver take you in their Lincoln Town Car, and then you can taxi it back to pick up your car after the show. The bar is not the kind of place where you hang out, it's more of a pit stop while you wait for your table or your friends to arrive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rossvesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to its billing.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Went to Marcel's with high expectations. Left slightly disappointed. Looked lovely from outside. Nice but not great inside. Flexible menu was a good idea - you pick how many courses you want. Air conditioning is outdated, so some tables are drafty & outright chilly. Ladies should take a wrap with them just in case. Food was good but nothing outstanding there. Certainly not the best in Washington. Our service was patchy - left too long waiting for menus. First course slow to arrive, others a little too fast. Lasting impression was of a good restaurant, but one which is not as good as its staff think it is.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snudge08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier also viewed

 

Been to Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing