We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crestfallen: so so and much to expensive for what it was” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obelisk

Obelisk
Ranked #279 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Crestfallen: so so and much to expensive for what it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Obelisk to celebrate special occasions for twenty years now. We went last night, and we were so disappointed. Total bill for two with a half bottle of wine: 290.00.
The good: the burrata was excellent as always, and the tagliatelle with proscuitto and fava beans was very nicely done. The bland or so so: everything else. The appetizers used to be in individual portions and more plentiful, not to mention tastier. The veal sweetbread was a fried lump of bland; the pork belly was ok; the sardines just ok. I had the lamb with asparagus, which was perfectly fine, but nothing to it , really. The chef was the grill. Same with the fish: it tasted like grilled fish, and was even a tad dry. The radicchio tasted like its balsamic marinade, but again, I could have cooked this. Where was Peter Pastan last night? Tell me he had the night off. The meal was such a downer, that I don't know that we're going back. And this is a place were we have gone at least once a year for twenty years. Maybe this is why there are fewer tables in the house than previously, because who is going to pay 150/per person for eeh?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsonitsstomach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    42
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wow! Amazing! Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This tiny, hard to find Italian restaurant is a true hidden gem. The food is authentic, yet creative. The service is welcoming, causal yet elegant. Went there on the business dinner, but saw a few romantic couples around. Book in advance, since the place is very small. Will definitely go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yanka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you see or do nothing else in DC, make sure to snag a reservation at one of the best places in the US. Small and intimate, great and friendly service, not that pricey considering what you get. It's prix fixe and at least five courses. We have never been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Upperwestsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The menu is fixed with a few selections for some of the 5 courses. It is small, maybe 12 tables. It is expensive but worth the price, at least the night a friend and I went. We went early, at 6, which was nice because it was quiet. When we left at 8:30 it was full and a bit noisy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge Disapointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

After much searching and review reading, our family of four decided to go to Obelisk. For all of us it was a complete disaster. Except for the borrata, all appetizers were were tiny and tasteless. Second course the same. Entrees were actually worse. Three of us ordered the Waygu beef with brocolli rabe. The brocolli rabe was cold, with little taste of the anchovies sauce, the the beef was so under cooked, as to appear raw. It also had a very "off" taste. After one bite, I decided that I couldn't eat it. the other two diners ate less than half. Our daughter ordered squab. It arrived BLOODY and tasteless...another uneaten entree. The breadsticks were tasteless. The deserts just so-so. The only tasteful food were the gratis petite fours given to us at the end of our meal. We had the wine tasting with our meal, and all ranged from ok to awful. I also found two long hairs on two separate dishes. Disgusting! When our plates were taken away after each course, the server never asked if something was wrong, seeing as each plate had hardly been touched. We all agreed that we felt we were a part of The Emperor's New Clothes. We will Never ever go back again. Just think....we had all of this for just $600.00 dollars. Stay away, this place is a farce!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AVJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obelisk also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Obelisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing