We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every time”
Review of La Chaumiere

La Chaumiere
Reserve with OpenTable
La Chaumiere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Gets better every time”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A wonderful Friday night dinner experience. The cozy room was bustling but it didn't ever feel frantic. Service was top-notch and the food was superb. We first dined at La Chaumiere while living in DC in 1986. We moved away in 1989 but on every return visit, we have stopped by for dinner. Everything has remained at the highest level.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewSmyrnaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    134
    28
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I'm glad I went for the food, the service not so much”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife had been to La Chaumiere for a business dinner a few months ago and suggested that we take our niece there for dinner when she was in town for a short visit. I wanted to give this restaurant a very good rating but the service was sub par which impacted my overall rating. The French food was authentic starting with the house specialty Quenelle de Brochet. It is a marvelous fish souffle (they called it a dumpling made out of pike) in a rich, creamy lobster sauce. The sweetbreads I had for the entree were cooked to perfection. My wife really enjoyed her dish of Capon Roulade which she said was quite tasty with a crayfish sauce on top.

However on balance the total experience was lacking. We arrived for an early seating and ended in the upstairs dining room. It certainly lacked the decor and charm of the downstairs. (The only redeeming factor was it was much quieter than lower dining area.) Unfortunately, the poor service detracted from the finely prepared food. I don't know if was the stairs or attitude, but the waiter didn't check on us as often as he should once the food arrived. When he did make an appearance, he seemed to lavish most of his time on a table that appeared to be full of regulars. I don't begrudge someone taking care of their regular customers. But I've experienced professional waiters that are able to do so with aplomb and not impact their other guests. When the meal ended and our table was cleared we had to flag another server down just to order coffee.

There are so many other good restaurants in the DC area, especially at this price point, that based on this experience, I'm not sure I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
328 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“32year revisited”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had are wedding rehearsal dinner here in 1981. Went back this month and it brought back fond memories of that night. The food is still great and service magnificent. Prices have changed but most everything was the same.

Helpful?
Thank weekendwonder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Had Valentines Day dinner here. The food was ok but it wasn't anything special. I did like the atmosphere. Dim lighting with calming music. Nice place for a couples dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Boris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb classical French brasserie”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This place serves the kind of food we used to get in France in the 1960s, and for about the same price too. La Chaumiere charges 60% of New York prices. It has the best quenelles we ever tasted, light and flluffy; wonderful sauces thick with cream and butter, souffles. We ate there twice in three days, including New Years Eve, when they served their usual menu at their usual prices. If this place were in my town, I'd eat there every day.

If you want imaginative, innovative cooking and legumes from third world countries, stay away from La Chaumiere, but me. . . just plain old haute cuisine is be good enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shinhanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chaumiere also viewed

 

Been to La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing