We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great party”
Review of Old Glory BBQ

Old Glory BBQ
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Glory BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #197 of 3,215 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Cross street: Wisconsin Ave.
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro
Description: Of all of our "native" food, barbecue is uniquely, authentically and gloriously All-American. Old Glory, located on historic M Street in Georgetown, captures the food, flavor and feel of the great barbecue restaurants of the United States, and offers representations of each styles of barbecue served in different parts of the country. "It looks like a rib joint, sounds like a rib joint and smells like one...most important, of course, the kitchen smokes fine barbecue," says the Washington Post. The huge barbecue pit, the open kitchen, and the 1901 Silver Dollar Four Winds hand-crafted bar, create lively, exciting atmosphere that is downright down-home.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food, great party”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Old Glory has great deals, good Southern kitchen and a nice crowd. Smokers can be out on the porch/patio/sundeck. I like the atmosphere here and you'll find all kinds of people dropping by although younger students seem to frequent Old Glory in the evenings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank great_squasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    197
    78
    44
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You dont have to go far for decent BBQ”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Old Glory's was an excellent decision for lunch. Right when you walk in it smells like BBQ and good smokey wood. The bar is beautiful, it looks like an oversized fireplace mantel. I had the pulled pork sandwhich with coleslaw and pickles. The table also ordered burnt ends and a cobb salad. There are 4 different BBQ sauces on the table for you to have: SW Texas, Memphis, Kansas City, and Savannah. All different and all unique to the regions. I suggest trying all of them! They bring you mini corn muffins instead of bread and they have real arnold palmer....with unsweet iced tea. Our server was wonderful and the food was just filling enough. The only downside I would say is that they are a little heavy handed on the salt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geographylover_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding BBQ”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Really great BBQ and this is coming from a southerner. You have to get the Mac N Cheese. The wings as an appetizer were also one of the best I have had in a while.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
“Dont miss baby back ribs”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Even tho we were staying in arlington va we made the long trip to georgetown. The barbecue is out of this world. It can be noisy & crowded on weekends especially dinnertime & later go early & avoid the crowd. There is a good cupcake shop one block away snd hagen daaz across the street.

Helpful?
Thank Vincestone
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“BBQ in DC - And it was Good!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Okay - So I was in DC for a convention and the dinner excursion was BBQ. Yes BBQ, not crab. And after doing work in Austin, TX where across the street is the world famous Franklin's and two blocks south is Stubb's BBQ, it seemed that this was going to be a bust. Especially when having to cater to over 100 individuals.

Well to my surprise the BBQ was good in fact in some instances excellent. The best was the sausage, but the wings and ribs came in a close second. The chicken, both kinds were also good, while the brisket was on the low end but still a good. The fried jalapenoes and pickles were excellent. So if you are looking for BBQ in DC this is the place. Also for the women it is along the main shopping street in Georgetown so a win-win.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Masci_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Glory BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Old Glory BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing