We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Service Were Excellent”
Review of Cafe Milano

Cafe Milano
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Milano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #211 of 3,213 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Cross street: Wisconsin Avenue NW
Transit: Metrobuses # 32, 34, 35 and 36. The closest stop is Wisconsin Avenue and N Street. Foggy Bottom Metro stop, on the Blue/Orange line is the closest Metro stop. The DC Circulator can also be used as an alternative bus option.
Description: Guests savor genuine Southern Coastal Italian cuisine in a setting reminiscent of a stylish Milan boutique. Framed designer scarves adorn the walls in a creative and colorful homage to Italian fashion. The ceiling gives way to coves of hand-painted murals celebrating Italian culture, including the stunning portrait of famed opera singer, Placido Domingo, in the room named in his honor. During warm-weather months, the front wall of floor-to-ceiling windows open onto an outdoor sidewalk patio, adding a touch of Northern Italy to the Georgetown streetscape, creating one of the most sought after dining spots in Washington. Since owner Franco Nuschese blazed onto the DC dining scene over twenty years ago, Cafe Milano has been a power center for diplomats, politicians, journalists, broadcasters, lobbyists, entertainers, and all who enjoy fine Italian food and gracious attentive service.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food and Service Were Excellent”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was here with my sister and wife, though it was very busy the service and food were excellent though we did find it a little pricey.

Helpful?
Thank jimmd20910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    167
    92
    45
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The restaurant is across the street from a parking lot, perhaps convenient but not the coziest street in Georgetown. The interior was very dark. Food was good, but pricey. Service was very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Georgetown Eats”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everywhere we went, people were raving about this place. The people at the Mayflower hotel, a friend went to Mexico and this was recommened, a friends hubby works in D.C. and he said this was a great spot....so 10 of us made a reservation. The food was good. The wine was good. The blood orange creme brulee was fantastic. But the restaurant was super crowded. Service was OK. And the bathrooms were horrid. If this place is this good and they know it gets crowded, they should have staff checking the bathroom every 30 minutes. If the bathroom was this bad and it never was tended to the 2 plus hours we were there....what else is not being taken care of?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ycartnirak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Anywhere else, this would have closed down...”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Following similar reviews about the noise and poor service, I would agree this place is not a great restaurant. Adequate food and a hang out for the "over the hill Capitol Hill" crowd. Stay away unless you are stuck, like we were without a Friday night reservation in the Georgetown area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Discerning12385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Noisey with unfriendly service...but food was good”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I guess you have to be a local or a "somebody" here but while the food was pretty good for an Italian restaurant, the service sucked big time. First the waiter, after I was asking about a $150 bottle of wine, started to try to sell me on one for $380...I didn't bite. Then he returns to advise that the one I wanted was sold out and offers me an alternative, telling me its around the same price...what are you going to do with the restaurant clambering with 250+ guests and your wife dreamily looking at you like she doesn't care about the wine. He starts to draw the cork and casually turns away, turning back after 10 seconds or so and continues, then quickly slams the cork into his apron pocket, and pours out the brunello for me to try...my wife later advises the cork broke in half. The first course was great...salad for me and soup for my sweetie...we then waited fully 40 minutes with absolutely no service before our mains arrived...they again were delicious, but we were by then ticked off enough with the experience that it really didn't matter.

Now we"re from Toronto where, because of the large number of italians who have immigrated, we have excellent italian restaurants...and not just pizza & veal parmigianno...we will not return to this restaurant...we know better!

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Milano also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Cafe Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing