We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best New Years Eve meal ever....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgia Brown's

Georgia Brown's
Reserve with OpenTable
Georgia Brown's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between K and I Streets
Transit: We are conveniently located near the McPherson Square metro station on the orange and blue lines. Exit the metro at Vermont Avenue and walk one-half block North on 15th Street. Traveling on the red line stop at Farragut North. Walk two blocks east on K Street. Turn right at the corner of 15th and K. We are mid-way through the block on the right.
Description: Come and experience our lively interpretation of South Carolina Low-Country cuisine. Enjoy good southern food, servers who bubble over with hospitality, and a dining room that is truly distinctive. With its honey-colored walls, golden woods and bronze sculptures that crawl across the ceiling, designer Adam Tihany has created an atmosphere to awaken your senses. What better place to enjoy low country cuisine than in this contemporary environment celebrating the south. Offering the flavor of the South - the Soul of Washington; where we will be sure to leave a light burning in the window for you, our guests. Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/gbrowns Visit our Facebook page: www.georgiabrowns.com/facebook
Atlanta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best New Years Eve meal ever....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

At the last minute decided to make a reservation for NYE dinner. Open table had a reservation. Now they were offering a pre fixe menu, but it allowed you to select anything off of the regular menu. Also you could order individually. The food was fantastic, the server was attentive, the only slight issue was the time in which the food arrived, but considering the volume of customers and NYE, it was still acceptable. I had the crab stuffed shrimp with mac and cheese. Was simple yet refined, and the portion was perfect. For desert, I had the key lime tart, again another wonderful item. We be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    395
    180
    54
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent southern cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a fairly upscale place with comfort southern food. Excellent service. Within walking distance to the White House.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Islandbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Sunday Jazz Brunch Goodness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

The food is fine but the entertainment and crowd make the morning. For $40-ish, all you can eat - and there is a lot of food to enjoy - and a live jazz band. Looks like locals make a day of it with folks lingering over cocktails and coffee and ample desserts. On a cold DC Sunday, this is the place to be.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had Thanksgiving dinner here where they had a $40 per person three course menu for the day. It was busy, but we were able to be seated immediately at the bar. Food was average to good. Staff was friendly and service was good, minus our server accidently dropping one of our to-go desserts while placing them in a bag, yet she did not offer to replace it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stayed a Little Longer in DC Just to Eat Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We wanted to have Thanksgiving dinner here, but they closed at 6pm and we didn't want to have dinner that early. We planned on leaving DC at 11am the next day, but we stayed a little longer just to have lunch. I am so glad that we did. The food was phenomenal. I started off with the she crab soup; it was delicious and the presentation was pretty. We had the catfish appetizer. My fiance doesn't really care for catfish and he said that it was really good. For our entree, my daughter and I split the fried chicken. When they brought it I initially thought that the server accidentally ordered one meal for each of us. Nope, he had it split, nice touch on his part, huge portion. We really enjoyed it.

Overall, the food was great, but I would have to say that our server didn't seem very happy to be there. That was the only downside to our experience. Also, it is a bit expensive. We spent over $100 on lunch (including 2 glasses of wine and 1 beer) not including tip, but that is to be expected in the DC area.

I would caution that there is no children's menu or at least one was not provided to us. Hence, the reason that I split my meal with my daughter. I would advise that the atmosphere is not for screaming rambunctious toddlers or babies. It's not fair to you, the child or other patrons.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FDBroadstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia Brown's also viewed

 

Been to Georgia Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing