We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go very hungry!”
Review of Georgia Brown's

Georgia Brown's
Reserve with OpenTable
Georgia Brown's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between K and I Streets
Transit: We are conveniently located near the McPherson Square metro station on the orange and blue lines. Exit the metro at Vermont Avenue and walk one-half block North on 15th Street. Traveling on the red line stop at Farragut North. Walk two blocks east on K Street. Turn right at the corner of 15th and K. We are mid-way through the block on the right.
Description: Come and experience our lively interpretation of South Carolina Low-Country cuisine. Enjoy good southern food, servers who bubble over with hospitality, and a dining room that is truly distinctive. With its honey-colored walls, golden woods and bronze sculptures that crawl across the ceiling, designer Adam Tihany has created an atmosphere to awaken your senses. What better place to enjoy low country cuisine than in this contemporary environment celebrating the south. Offering the flavor of the South - the Soul of Washington; where we will be sure to leave a light burning in the window for you, our guests. Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/gbrowns Visit our Facebook page: www.georgiabrowns.com/facebook
Kennett Square
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go very hungry!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Nice atmosphere; food came very quickly, which can be good, but there was no relaxing with a drink after a long day of seeing the sights; huge portions of fried chicken; gumbo was just Luke warm as was the coffee, the waiter did offer to brew a fresh pot; asked for a dessert menu, which never was brought to us. An OK experience, but I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    417
    188
    55
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were walking in search for a restaurant and spotted few outdoor tables nearby Vermont St. We wanted to sit outside because the weather was perfect for dinner on a patio.
We had a long day of work that started at 4 AM; I wanted a place where I could forget the pressure and just feel a bit at home.
We walked in to ask for sitting outdoor, and discovered that there was live music in. We opted for a cozy indoor to enjoy the music. The choice turned out to be perfect.
We were assigned a funky, serious looking older waitress who had style and charm to sell. The tables are close, really close to each others, but we turned it into a fun opportunity to ask other customers for advice on food and wine.
We has Louisianian specialties and everything was so perfect, so tasty, so enjoyable that it felt like they made it fantastic and unique just for us.
I was pleased and thrilled by the vegetarian platter, by the perfect corn bread served with chilly sauce; the green tomatoes were just like a gramma would make them. Generous and tasty.
The Gumbo was spectacular, according to my colleague who also tasted another entree. We shared a Pecan pie to die for.
All accompanied by a nice bottle of wine. We left full in a non-crass fashin, happy, and pampered by the kindness of the staff. Like if you had dinner at your gramma, but in the upscale and chick environment of an unexpected pearl in a formal, uptight downtown Washington.
I would have brunch, lunch, and dinner there every day. A staple for those who are up-in-the-air quite a bit and need to reconnect with life in the evening, whether alone, with colleagues, or with a partner.


Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tramonteL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Jazz Brunch on Sunday Is Great”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We went last Sunday for brunch. The potato salad and grits are by far the best thing ever. They have turkey, beef, ham and omelets on the buffet. Tons of deserts and the most delicious peach cocktails ever. After stuffing yourself with the buffet you get an entree - of which I got the best catfish dinner and my partner got the fried chicken ...... oh so much food...so much booze....so much fun - we went to the Air Space Museum afterwards to try and walk off all the calories.

So much fun - thank you everyone at Georgia Brown's - we even got to sit in the chair the First Lady sits in when she comes here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Would love to return”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our experience began with a friendly smile and blossomed from there. All service staff were friendly, prompt and helpful. The specialty drinks were tasty and the food was fresh and flavorful. I highly recommend the she-crab soup and the devil shrimp.
I hope to return when back in DC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
269 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good, down home food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Being from the South, we really enjoyed the food at Georgia Brown's. The place was packed, it is popular. Our table provided us with some privacy and our waitress was fantastic, very helpful, smiling all the while. I had Southern Fried Chicken, mashed potatoes, Collard greens, corn bread etc. All were very good. I had an Apple Dumpling for dessert, and the waitress brought us all some peach cobbler for free as well. If you like good food that is not fancy, but well prepared, this is the place to go. I would go there again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia Brown's also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Georgia Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing