We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fish Tacos I've ever had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunder Grill

Thunder Grill
Ranked #821 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Incorporating towering, adobe-like wall fragments at the entry hall of Union Station, intricate mosaic surfaces of turquoise glass, and a menu reflecting the many cultures that have influenced the region, Thunder Grill is a visual and culinary celebration of the American Southwest.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

My friend ordered Fish Tacos for appetizer and I was very skeptical. You see I've been so disappointed in the number of restaurants where Fish Tacos were on the menu. However, after my friend smiled after a bite, I tried them for myself. Thunder Grill came through with flying colors and they were the best Fish Tacos I've ever had.

The Calamari were very good; juicy and lightly battered. And the beef brisket was so tender and delicious you could swallow it whole!

Thunder Grill was a great find!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaniLew_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    98
    81
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Level Contributor
293 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good location within Union Station - Cozier than other major restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The cold was coming in the front door with the other major restaurant but this was tucked in and nice and cozy. The service was excellent and the food was good. Great place to wait out with a train departure time with my son.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GailCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We met a family member at the Thunder Grill for lunch today. The restaurant is located in the DC Union Station. Our very friendly server quickly brought us water and took our drink orders which arrived shortly. My spouse had a burger served with fries and cole slaw, her brother ordered a turkey burger also with fries and slaw. Tomato and onion were on the side and mustard and catsup were brought to the table. Both burgers were pronounced very good.

With some trepetation I ordered beef enchiladas. They were delicious. Wrapped in blue corn tortIllas the tender well seasoned beef was covered in white chese. On the plate was rice, guacamole and tomato.

We each had coffee after our meal.

We were all well pleased with Thunder Grill. The food was good, service was good and our server, in particular, was friendly and efficient. Our bill was $61, which included a $10 tip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

After returning our rental car late in the evening at Union Station we decided to eat in the area before taking a taxi back to the hotel. We ended up at Thunder Grill because it was located at Union Station and we where tired to continue looking for something else. The restaurant was about to close so we had to site on a bar type table. Not the best choice after a long day of shopping. The food was oke but nothing special. It was very loud in the restaurant from drunk costumers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KoenIceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst buffalo burger ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as a family for lunch and were disappointed multiple times during this one visit. The service was painfully slow, and despite our server's apology, he didn't check on us more frequently. While my son's nachos were okay, but everyone else's food was iffy. The Caesar salad was wilted, flat and not well presented. The buffalo burger had something mixed in to add fat that was greasy and gristley. The breakfast burger looked okay but had a greasy, uncooked center. Fries were horribly over cooked, iced tea was oddly cloudy. Overall, it wasn't a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank aktchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Grill also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Thunder Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing