We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot near the White House”

Teaism Lafayette Park
Ranked #870 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Description: Just two blocks from The White House and The Renwick Gallery, Teaism Lafayette Park is popular with tourists and locals. Open for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea Monday to Friday, the menu features fresh, healthy food made with wholesome ingredients. Be sure to have a Salty Oat Cookie.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot near the White House”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you want healthy lunch options while in DC, Teaism is a great choice. The bento boxes are awesome. I also love the curry chicken salad. They are great at accommodating food allergies. You can't miss the tea!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    39
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
177 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Comfy Spot”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location ~ wonderful menu ~ clean and comfy. Just what I look for in a tea joint. Great staff, too! Relax... and enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VelhoSorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Interesting fushion menu”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I went to Teaism for a business lunch with a couple of co workers. The place is a little less expensive than nearby restaurants, such as Bombay Club or Equinox, but the menu is very interesting with asian fusion flavor to it. There are some indian dishes, thai curries and japanese style entrees and what's even better cinammon ice cream dessert. True to their name they also have an excellent selection of tees. This place can get quite crowded during lunch and they do not accept reservations, since it is not a sit down (they have tables but you take your order and sit yourself) but they move quite quickly. Definitely worth a try if you like asian cuisine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank merryl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wish we had a spot like this back home!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is an amazing place to stop for lunch, a snack, or just a drink to warm you up. We were in DC for 5 days and stopped here four times. I tried various Oolongs and my husband always had Black Tea. They were all fantastic. We tried their oat cookies as well. My husband liked them, I wasn't a huge fan.

We didn't get a chance to eat a full meal here, but as we sat drinking our teas I eyed everyone else's food and it looked incredible. Their soups smelled fantastic and the bento boxes all looked great.

Their prices are very very reasonable. Much cheaper than grabbing a coffee shop drink. Really love this shop!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kassie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ok food, ok vibe”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

It is not really bad food, and the place is ok. The issue is that there are many other places around with much better food, and just slightly more expensive. Teaism is ok, I guess. But you can do better by spending an extra five to ten bucks.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank localsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teaism Lafayette Park also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Teaism Lafayette Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing