We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Chili Dog!”
Review of Ben's Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #19 of 330 Quick Bites in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Virginia Ali is now 86 years old and she started the restaurant with her husband Ben when she was only 24. On August 22, 2019, Ben’s Chili Bowl will turn 61. But it’s not just a birthday for Ben’s, it’s a celebration of DC’s African American history, culture, and character. It’s a celebration of our city, and U Street’s resilience. Presidents, celebrities, neighbors and people from around the world have all enjoyed Ben's signature Half-Smoke, chili cheese fries, burgers and milkshakes.
Reviewed April 22, 2017

You haven't truly visited Washington, DC, until you've grabbed a bite to eat from this long-time neighborhood establishment. It's a well-known fixture that has served presidents and celebrities alike.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grey-haire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 281 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

We stopped on after a late night. The place is clean. The food is good for chili and half smokes. Nothing special, just a solid late night grub spot.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank uabericm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017

I showed up about 12:30 on a Monday afternoon. About a dozen people were in line in front of me. We stood there for two or three minutes, and I noticed that nobody was at the register taking orders. I waited for another minute; nothing. I walked out. The food is great; I love it. But I can't abide lousy service.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

Food was very good. Would definitely recommend!!

Not sure the single $ for a price range is correct compared to some other places but also not complaining about the price. It was fair for the quality of food and the service we received.

4-burgers
4-drinks
2- chilli cheese fries to split
=$56

Like I said food and service were great and a good value. Just making anyone looking aware of the price.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank sndsoulellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

i would say good more than very good but there is no button for that. i always enjoy the half smokes with chili and cheese, onions etc. that is ALL i ever get and that is delicious. i can't speak to other food items on the menu.

but service is lacking, takes a long time. once you get someone, they are super friendly and pretty efficient. just harder to get their attention if you sit at the bar stools. but i'll keep coming back for the half smokes.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tellus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Chili Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Chili Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.