We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere!”
Review of Ben's Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #19 of 330 Quick Bites in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Virginia Ali is now 86 years old and she started the restaurant with her husband Ben when she was only 24. On August 22, 2019, Ben’s Chili Bowl will turn 61. But it’s not just a birthday for Ben’s, it’s a celebration of DC’s African American history, culture, and character. It’s a celebration of our city, and U Street’s resilience. Presidents, celebrities, neighbors and people from around the world have all enjoyed Ben's signature Half-Smoke, chili cheese fries, burgers and milkshakes.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

It's a famous neighborhood hang-out that some friends took me to. Apparently it's been visited by lots of celebrities and Obama liked to go there. They have hot dogs, fries, chili (of course) -- fairly ordinary stuff in that genre -- but it's good. Go there if you like that kind of food; the menu is limited.

People who work there are great. Would be nice if you could buy a beer to go with with food.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WSThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 307 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2017

Chili dogs n half smokes are outstanding, love the casual atmosphere, a great place to relax and unwind.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shubhashish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

We went to Ben's Chilli Bowl after a few drinks on U Street and we waited in line looking at all the options. We went with the chilli half smoked dog with mustard and onions. Sooooo good!!! We even had it again when we got to the airport on our way home!!!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017

A simple yet nostalgic American diner that is famous for its chili dogs, half-smokes, and milkshakes.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TOH_TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

You can't visit DC (or live here) without going to Ben's. Situated in the historic section of U street, its a cheap local way to connect with decades of DC history.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Chili Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Chili Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.