We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chili Half-Smokes!”
Review of Ben's Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl
Get food delivered
Ranked #18 of 346 Quick Bites in Washington DC
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Ben's Chili Bowl is a black-owned American restaurant located in Washington, DC. Ben's Chili Bowl is a famous DC hot spot for American classics like half-smoked sausage, banana pudding, chili dogs, and even vegan chili. In part to our deeply rooted history, we've become a popular stop during tourist visits to the National Museum of African American History & Culture. We attract locals, tourists, and celebrities such as Barack Obama, Anthony Bourdain, and more. Stop by Ben's Chili Bowl on U Street for your favorite American classics, or book us for catering in the Washington, DC area.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended from Trip Advisor, I had to give this place a try. Great prices and real tasty food. Eating booths in the front and counter, tables located in the back. Outstanding chili, just the right spice,half- smokes are outstanding. Nice folks too! 5 Stars from California !

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 1Greg0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 478 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2016

Ben's was on my DC bucket list, and I am glad we went. I had the half smoke (with chile...of course) and my wife got a burger. Service was friendly and excellent. The manager spent a few minutes with us as well. Went on a Thursday, and had no wait shortly after noon.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BR_MikeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Was visiting family in DC and dining at expensive restaurants. A family member decided we should visit here because it has food very smiliar to a place in our hometown that only has curbside service. I ordered a half smoked with mustard and a bowl of chili. While our food was being prepared, we sat down at one of the tables in the back. The place was busy, and it was LOUD. We enjoyed every minute of it. Our food may not have been that healthy for us, but sometimes you got to have something greasy. Looking forward to my next visit in November 2016.

While we were eating our food, a tour group came in (all boys and teenagers) someone seated at a table near us yelled out, "Where you from?" The reply was (in a british accent), "The UK."

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bluebirdofchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Chili cheese fries and a half smoke with chili...delish before sightseeing. And after all the walking, you can rationalize the indulgence. Casual, comfortable and cozy.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Gustavo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Had the half smoke and a cup of chili finished with a hand spun chocolate shake. Sausage had a great snap and good texture . Nice char on the sausage. Chili has a little bite not too much for those who like it mild enough for those who like it warm. Lots of chocolate flavor, thick shake made before your very eyes. Love that your order taker makes up your order and finds you. Fun sitting at the counter watching all the action. Very attentive staff , even though really busy took time to get more water and make the shake even though we were sitting there looking finished. Great time at the original.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank mhesshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Chili Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Chili Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.