We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place, That's Rich With History.”
Review of Ben's Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl
Get food delivered
Ranked #18 of 346 Quick Bites in Washington DC
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Ben's Chili Bowl is a black-owned American restaurant located in Washington, DC. Ben's Chili Bowl is a famous DC hot spot for American classics like half-smoked sausage, banana pudding, chili dogs, and even vegan chili. In part to our deeply rooted history, we've become a popular stop during tourist visits to the National Museum of African American History & Culture. We attract locals, tourists, and celebrities such as Barack Obama, Anthony Bourdain, and more. Stop by Ben's Chili Bowl on U Street for your favorite American classics, or book us for catering in the Washington, DC area.
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Decent place, that's rich with history. Chilli cheese fries were good, Soft drinks were flat. My mother said the chilli beef hot dog was ok, and my chilli bowl over rice was ok.
This place is not food heaven and it's not bad. Just good old fashion lil league baseball park food.
They still have a big photo of Bill Cosby up on the wall. But you see no sign of Bills favorite smoke on the menus.
The owner actually came over and greeted us; I guess you can tell non-locals a mile away...lol. She (the owner) was very warm and gracious.
Great place for family photos !!!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank daddyredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 484 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Loves it. It lived up to everything we had read and seen. Great chilli and oh the cheese fries! The homemade lemonade is delicious too. Staff were friendly and super easy to get from downtown via the metro

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Curiosity24402635444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

Tried the Half Smoke. Sausage was good, tasted like a hot dog to me, but still tasty. It had chili, mustard and onions on it. Could have used more chili on it,..was a very thin layer of chili. The owner was there and greeted all her customers, which I thought added to the experience. Would go back again.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tuckers0wner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

We love to go to restaurants we see on food network while on vacation. We saw Ben's chili Bowl recommended in multiple locations. Often placed that are listed as a tourist must are only so so but this was delish. It was super fast, cheap, the service was friendly and the food was soo good. It is located across the street from a metro station and in a historical part of town for civil rights. Must do.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank BrittanyP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

I would rate this a 3 if it was solely based on food and a 4 if you include atmosphere/history.

I loved all the pictures on the wall of famous patrons. The hot dog was pretty average, the chili was the best part. I think in the future I would do chili cheese fries or a bowl of chili.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank kaitlino423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Chili Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Chili Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.