We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grab Hot Dogs for Lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ben's Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl
Ranked #75 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: U Street Corridor
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Grab Hot Dogs for Lunch.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I went in to get carry out, two hot dogs for lunch with someone else. I have been there many times but not often. Most of my friends and family really seemed to like the Half Smokes. Service was prompt. I have never sat down in there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tonisetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    612
    298
    105
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food and service. Bad locals.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Been here several times and never had bad food or bad service. 1. Know what you are walking into. 2. Be ready to order and if possible have someone grab a seat because seating is limited.

2. The later you go the more it gets filled with jerks who cut in line and then yell at you for calling them on it. Maybe I, and then other people, were jerks but when the line is out the door and you cut it's bull. And then you get to the front and complain about your food??

Go during the day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gomerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chili Cheese Fries Heaven”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife disagrees but I think it was great. We are from Kansas City where we put beans in our chili. So she didn't like the chili. I had the Half- Smoke and Chili Cheese fries. What a delight. It was exactly what I expected. The service wasn't that good but the atmosphere was just like you could imagine. One sausage is not feeling for a big guy, so just do lunch or order two.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krazykredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OMG!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you want a treat, and something different in the hot-dog arena, you have to go try a half-smoke (with chili and onions). This is one of the best "dogs" you'll ever try! Plus the restaurant is I national landmark. Truly!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrownHornetGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A fun dinner for our family!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I took my kids to eat here and we all had a great time. It was cold outside but hot inside the restaurant. Every time we go by the place is always packed so plan accordingly.

They only accept cash so make sure you come prepared for that as well, though there is an ATM if you need one.

We had chili bowls and burgers and milkshakes and it was all very tasty. Though we had a good time we probably wouldnt go back for a while but I am glad we went.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebekahj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Chili Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Ben's Chili Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing