We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DC Classic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben's Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl
Ranked #88 of 3,080 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: U Street Corridor
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A DC Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great ambiance. This landmark serves up some of the best chili dogs, chili burgers and chili cheese fries. It's a great place to stop after having a few beers out at the bars on U Street. A must visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank venturagm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    536
    281
    99
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Different than Texas Chili”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I saw a travel show on Washington, DC which mentioned Ben's Chili Bowl so I made my husband go there with me on our recent visit. We were not disappointed. The chili is definitely not Texas style, but it was very good especially on the hot dog. My husband got the half smoke with chili which he really enjoyed. Had to have fries which were very good also. Dessert: Strawberry/banana milkshake which was so thick we had to use a spoon. The walls are covered with famous faces who have visited. The music was so rocking that I was dancing in my seat. The line was long, but the service was outstanding. You order and they bring it to your table. You must go here when you visit WDC.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieH774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ben's is a must stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Half Smoke and Chili Fries are incredible. You can also purchase online items after you have left DC and wish you had one. Great friendly staff and you may just see someone famous.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCWesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I came here after seeing Adam Richman nearly getting an orgasm after taking a bite from the Chili Halfsmoke.

Now that I've tasted it myself, I have to say: it's not the best chili I've ever had. It's not bad, but not that great either. It's a little too much sauce my taste and that makes the texture a little off for me. I guess I just like my chili a bit more solid. The spiciness is nice, but again: not the best.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who's out to get an amazing chili.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FatalX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wish the scale went over five!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My first trip to D.C. ended with a chili dog at this wonderful place. Packed with history and savory food, Ben's is a must stop.

The juke box flowed with Sam Cooke and Bib Marley. Superb.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Chili Bowl also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Ben's Chili Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing