We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushilicious”
Review of Sushi Taro

Sushi Taro
Ranked #214 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: P Street
Transit: 3 blocks to east from Dupont Circle Metro station.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Sushilicious”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The quality of the fish is superb! The tuna was like butter and I felt it melt in my mouth.

It is truly exceptional sushi and I recommend the food highly. However, with such high quality food, I want to eat in an equally beautiful environment. The food is A+ but the atmosphere is a solid C. And for the price point, I need at least a B atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCMomInChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    92
    31
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Oishii--Very Delicious”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I lived in Tokyo for over 20 years. Rarely do we find a Japanese restaurant in the US that serves "authentic" dishes.

The katsudon (pork on rice) was a real treat--very tasty.

On normal days, the restaurant is packed at lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigIsleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Sushi was great... The yellow tail and octopus nigiri was particularly delicious. The service however left much to be desired. Our server was slow, and forgetful. If you're going during lunch on a weekday, recommend you make a reservation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N_Quiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's gotten better....”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I wrote a review over three years ago shortly after Sushi Taro did its big renovation, doing away with what was then one of my favorite restaurants and bringing in something that severely disappointed at the time. I've subsequently returned a couple of times and had gotten over my disappointment with the loss of the prior version, and also able to see they had made some improvements with the menu and service. Having stepped back after three years I'd say it is a decent, albeit pricey sushi option, with moments of inspiration, but not necessarily one I'd make a too much of out of the way trip for. Thus, an upgrade from 1 to 3 stars.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWorldIsMyBackyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best sushi”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place has a very cozy and warm athmosphere. The food was delicious. I ordered variety of sashimi and it was very fresh. The pieces were nice and thick.
The staff was friendly and attentive.
I think the only downfall is the price. It is a bit pricey. However, if you want good sushi, you might as well pay the price for it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArlingtonTraveler478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Taro also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Sushi Taro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing