We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better places nearby ”
Review of Sequoia DC

Sequoia DC
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 10/17
8:00 PM
Ranked #327 of 3,427 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $40 - $75
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Cross street: 30th
Transit: Ten minute walk from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station (Orange/Blue lines)
Description: After almost 30 years, we are still so proud to be one of DC's extraordinary establishments and the Sequoia you know and love. The newly renovated beloved restaurant is located in the Washington Harbour on the Georgetown Waterfront, right along the banks of the Potomac River in Washington, DC. The vast floor-to-ceiling windows offer magnificent views, and our interior design is just as amazing as our surroundings! The entire restaurant is filled with contemporary art featuring Hitoshi Kuriyama's neon glass tube light installation along the ceiling and Arne Quinze's grand colorful sculpture named Scarlet in the garden as well as several other art installations throughout. We also offer incredible options for Private Events & Catering! So please come back to enjoy yourself again and revel in some of the finest cuisine & cocktails DC has to offer, while soaking up some of the best views in the city right on the water in Georgetown.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Had a 7:00 pm reservation. Arrived 5 minutes early and were told "there's a table paying their bill, it will just be a few minutes." (We later found out another party with a 7:00 reservation had been told the same thing). 55 minutes later, we were seated in a crowded, noisy room, with no apology from the hostess. After sitting for 10 minutes without waitstaff approaching our table, we decided to leave the restaurant. For the prices this place asks, I would expect better service.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank jwp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 252 of 865 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2016

Came here after visiting the WhiteHouse and tour of the National Mall.

Nice ambience in front of the river and several yachts. We got a seat right in front of the water.

Food was good but expensive.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xnpa555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

We went there for dinner 2 weeks ago, simply the best water view restaurant in Georgetown. All pther restaurant claim to be waterview: they are all positioned behind Sequoia. When we asked for direction after getting out of cab, the answer: Sequoia is the one at the very front by the water

Service:
Plenty of staff around, our server was friendly. Did not have to wait long for food or bill

Food
Very tasty, nothing jumps out but everything is DELICIOUS!
Price is quite reasonable for its quality.

We stayed on the patio outside, the scenary feels like Hawaii!! Just unbelievable

I already recommended this to friends who will be visiting DC

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Peru201193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Being in a group of 240, it was a great location with a terrific view. Started with drinks on the veranda and then went inside for a dinner. The scallops were very good as was the desert. Steak was OK and covered with a brown gravy. Lots of glass in this building and some terrific views. The bathroom was upstairs which was inconvenient for many. This was a superior location than staying for another dinner at the Watergate.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Dwane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Just had the NY strip = awesome. Enjoyed the entire meal. Started with Lettuce wedge and ended with the Key Lime Pie. Service relaxed but excellent. Ambiance brilliant.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Leoncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sequoia DC also viewed

 

Been to Sequoia DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.