We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a large group on the waterfront”
Review of Sequoia DC

Sequoia DC
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 10/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #328 of 3,430 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $40 - $75
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Cross street: 30th
Transit: Ten minute walk from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station (Orange/Blue lines)
Description: After almost 30 years, we are still so proud to be one of DC's extraordinary establishments and the Sequoia you know and love. The newly renovated beloved restaurant is located in the Washington Harbour on the Georgetown Waterfront, right along the banks of the Potomac River in Washington, DC. The vast floor-to-ceiling windows offer magnificent views, and our interior design is just as amazing as our surroundings! The entire restaurant is filled with contemporary art featuring Hitoshi Kuriyama's neon glass tube light installation along the ceiling and Arne Quinze's grand colorful sculpture named Scarlet in the garden as well as several other art installations throughout. We also offer incredible options for Private Events & Catering! So please come back to enjoy yourself again and revel in some of the finest cuisine & cocktails DC has to offer, while soaking up some of the best views in the city right on the water in Georgetown.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Being in a group of 240, it was a great location with a terrific view. Started with drinks on the veranda and then went inside for a dinner. The scallops were very good as was the desert. Steak was OK and covered with a brown gravy. Lots of glass in this building and some terrific views. The bathroom was upstairs which was inconvenient for many. This was a superior location than staying for another dinner at the Watergate.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Dwane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 255 of 865 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Just had the NY strip = awesome. Enjoyed the entire meal. Started with Lettuce wedge and ended with the Key Lime Pie. Service relaxed but excellent. Ambiance brilliant.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Leoncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

I am really torn about this review. I attended a beautiful wedding reception at this location the end of June. The tables were gorgeous. Luscious flowers, napkins and chairs to match. The room was beyond words regarding the beautiful lighting inside and out. I should mention this was a wedding in which the couple wanted very specific decor, appetizers, high end spirits, all was over the top. When we arrived we were sent upstairs, to a very small area, considering the 200 people in the party....it was way to small. The appetizers were good, nothing special. While standing on that second floor, the restaurant had divided up the space with white curtains, note that you could be in that very large venue with two affairs going on at the same time, while standing we could could see stacked chairs and other items that were not being used for our party. It was far from attractive. The exterior of this restaurant has different levels of tables that lead to the water. This was the weekend before July 4th. Yaughting is quite the thing to do at this time of year. So boats, of all sizes, we're lined up along the river. In summary, every inch of the interior and exterior were packed. The service was good, but the food was OK. While standing on the second floor we had full view of the band. It was huge for the space! So once dinner was over, you can guess what happened, when the band started you could not hear anything. No conversations, just loud noise that considering floor to sealing glass, that ended any real communication . If you read other wedding reviews,the noise is the greatest negative of this venue. You could have 2 parties going on at the same time, inside the venue. One is only allowed 5 hours for a wedding, unless you pay extra. In the end, what little space was available on the outside, filled up with wedding guests due to the noise factor.
This is a beautiful venue. Perfect for Georgetown grads. If you do not have any affiliations with the Georgetown area, look at other locations.

This is beautiful and really is an impressive venue. Just prepare yourself for noise.
Do enjoy and come at an off time. You will love it.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LindaPatterson5115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

We went to the harbour for lunch on a Saturday but not with an exact plan, walked into reception here and were told it was a buffet which sounded great. As we walked in and saw some of the food we were really pleased with our decision.

We sat outside with right by the harbour and straight away the satff were friendly and really quick to bring us water and start the bottomless mimosas and quick to keep the mimosas coming as well which was brilliant.

The food was outstanding, so fresh and so many options with stations for making tacos, omlettes etc

Desserts brilliant as well, we left absolutely stuffed and definitely worth the 55 dollars each for what we ate and drank in such a wonderful setting.

Cannot recommend this place enough.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrisking8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

If you like seafood, this place is a Mecca in Georgetown for you! Located near to the sea, with its bar really nice place to enjoy your night. Order seafood tower for 3 person with large variety of vines and you will absolutely amazed!!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank firstmoon3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sequoia DC also viewed

 

Been to Sequoia DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.