We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Occidental Grill

Occidental Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Occidental Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 14th
Transit: Metrocenter 13 & F
Description: Occidental Grill & Seafood is a DC dining institution just steps from the White House, with a history dating back more than 110 years. This iconic gathering place combines legendary staying power with a constantly evolving, cutting-edge menu that takes a fresh and current approach to classic American cuisine.
Nassau Bahamas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Although quite warm outside, we had wonderful food and service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jayne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    224
    86
    46
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outside patio dining!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We sat outside under huge trees and enjoyed mussels and martinis while watching tourists and politicians!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank altasloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Location, view, patio, must go.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Patio dining here is a must. From your table you can see the Capitol, the Dept of Treasury, the Washington monument, and you are close to the White House. Great patio. Good food and drinks. Average service, perhaps a tad slow and inattentive, but we were not in a hurry. Prices you would expect for Pennsylavania Avenue next to the White House. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience. My wife, my 7 y.o. granddaughter, and I all had fun. After dinner we strolled the perimeter of the White House grounds.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TPHOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here during our brief visit to Washington. The food was excellent. I had the beet salad and the lamb and he had gaspacho and the sea scallops. The service was great. I would say that it was a little slow, but we weren't in any hurry so it was leisurely. I would definietly go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time - so many better options in DC”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. It was a Friday night in DC in June - 7pm - and no one was there. That should have been our first clue. Expensive? Yes. Nice atmosphere? Yes. Good service? Yes. Good food? NO. Good value? Definitely NO. We were staying at the Willard Intercontinental and this place is just next door so we figured it would be an easy and convenient option for dinner. The waiter was very nice, relatively attentive. The food was average at best. We ordered the special, which was a tiny filet mignon paired with a crabcake. The filet was so salty I couldn't eat it and it was drenched in some sauce that told me that they were masking a substandard piece of meat. The crabcake was good, not a lot of filler - mostly crab - but nothing spectacular. Price for this entree? $69. We opted out of dessert and went to Old Ebbitt's Grille - wish we had eaten there for dinner too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heels94GreensboroNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Occidental Grill also viewed

 
 

Been to Occidental Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing