We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely meal with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Equinox

Equinox
Reserve with OpenTable
Equinox is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #304 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: I Street, N.W.
Description: Please come join Todd & Ellen Gray and the Equinox staff to delight in some of the seasons best flavors from the mid-atlantic region.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“lovely meal with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went there on a sunday night with close friends , Nice place , was a bit quiet, The food and service were great. the summer salad was one of the best salads i've had ever. and the entrees were quite delicious. great meal but no wow factor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarek_Aggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    70
    41
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner, great restaurant in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Awesome meal, the soft shell crabs were incredible and the duck may have been the best I have had. Would strongly recommend you try Equinox. If the weather cooperates, sit outside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAADC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have only had lunch here (many times and always business). Let me say this. The food is very good, expensive, but very good. There is always a different menu and the selection is terrific. The service is great. So a great spot for a nice lunch and efficient service.

My only gripe-- $4.50 for an ice tea? I get that restaurants raise the price of everything else to lessen the impact of their costs. But I think when they start charging $4 and $5 for tea and coffee, they should put it on the menu. That just makes you feel like an idiot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thunderbird0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good location. Solid if not spectacular food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location close to the White House. Filled mainly corporate patrons as you would expect. Our starters were average, but beef tenderloin main very good. Service a little patchy. Good but not great overall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snudge08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A personal touch that meant a lot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The food at Equinox is amazing - but I wanted to commend them for some remarkable service we received there. I wish I could give something higher than a 5 for service. Here's why: we took relatives who were in from out of town to dinner there. It was a difficult night as a family friend was very ill and we were waiting for a possible phone call with bad news. When our relative needed to take the call, our waitress escorted her to the restaurant office so she could take the call in private. They also held off on serving our entree until she could get back to the table. Unbelievably kind of all of the staff - made a huge impression on our relatives. So nice to see a business care about its customers. Equinox is really a class act.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Equinox also viewed

 

Been to Equinox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing