We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in a nice setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bombay Club Restaurant

Bombay Club Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bombay Club Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between H & I Streets
Transit: Farragut West & Farragut North Metro Lines
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
518 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a nice setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We last ate here 20 years ago...and it hasn't changed a bit...a very good thing in this case. In an atmosphere of any Indian supper club (live piano music) the friendly staff serves great Indian food, some quite unique. Don't be put off by the "club"...the staff is incredibly friendly, service is efficient, and not the least bit stuffy. It's about a 5 block walk from the White Hosue...so convenient to many downtown hotels.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    145
    45
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“A Real Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Went to this restaurant for a birthday dinner. Great drink and happy Birthday played by the pianist. Thank you! The crispy Kale salad is like nothing I have ever tried before. An exceptional dish. Also exceptional was the Dal. It takes them days to make it but worth their efforts! Members of my party had the lamb which they said was good, but not necessarily outstanding like the other dishes. The vegetarian Thali was excellent, diverse in its offering and very flavourful. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and will return to this restaurant during our next visit to Washington.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Respectable Authentic Fare, Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Decent, dependable Indian food at a reasonable price, within moderate walking distance of most DC tourist areas. Décor is open and largely forgettable, but we weren't there for the interior decoration.
Staff was friendly and attentive and gave good advice on menu choices.
Calamari appetizer was very good - mildly spicy and very tender. Seasoned nan breads (goat cheese / garlic) were also very good.
Spicy means "spicy" and not "volcanic" or "inedible".
Overall price was commensurate with quality of food and service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Elegant surroundings, great food. My colleague and I really enjoyed the meal and we had great service. The menu had typical Indian dishes as well as some interesting appetizers. Everything we ordered, including cocktails, was quite tasty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank apearl0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food, good service, odd decorating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I took her parents to this restaurant during a short trip to DC. We found the food to be very good, especially the appetizers. One of our dishes, which we ordered 'medium' was extremely hot. Otherwise all the food was as ordered. We had a very good time and the service was quite good.

The only thing we found strange was the photography on the walls. It is all of colonial era India. Lots of white men with rifles surrounded by their manservants and lots of dead animals. It seemed odd to us that the restaurant presented this time in India's history in an almost celebratory way. As a group we found the images a bit off.

But again, if you come for the food you are unlikely to be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank r0bpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Club Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bombay Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing