We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch”

Spices Asian Restaurant
Ranked #378 of 3,216 Restaurants in Washington DC
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Cross street: Macomb Street and Ordway Street
Transit: Cleveland Park Metro Station
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stopped here for lunch after a morning at the National Zoo. It was recommended by Zoo staffer. My kids absolutely loved it. They had fried rice and dumplings (very kid friendly food). I had a Thai dish, and my husband had a noodle dish. We were all very happy with our food. Service was prompt and attentive. There was a mixed crowd of business people and touristing families. Would definitely recommend this place. It is right by the Cleveland Park metro station.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha74137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    53
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for a family dinner”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you want an inexpensive, OK asian dinner Spices is for you.. They offer a good mixed asian menu although sushi is their speciality. Some of the dishes like the Teriaki salmon are too sweet for my taste. the New York steak plate is wonderful and so is the Pad Thai. A good place to go on friday night with your family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaribelJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They have a wine special before 7 that is half off bottles. Food was acceptable and service was good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajk470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Craved Malaysian”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I visited Malaysia in November and was craving some curry Laska, I called and asked if they offer that and they prepared it especially for me.
The food was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant if you love Asian food

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mezzat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
584 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good food, decent ambiance, mediocre service, reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The food is good, but the service is mediocre at best. No one greeted us when we first entered and we always had to struggle to get our waitress' attention throughout our meal. Additionally, the waitress never checked back with us to see if everything was all right or if we needed anything else after our food had been served. Various servers brought us our food and drinks – all were fast but none of them made any attempt at friendliness.
The interior is open and noisy, but there are some interesting wall decorations that provide an Asian feel and decent ambiance.
We each started with miso soup. Then I had the chicken teriyaki, while my wife had the pad Thai. All were pretty good. The prices are really reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spices Asian Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Spices Asian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing