We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent eats in Dupont”
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #399 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Cross street: Florida Avenue
Transit: Buca di Beppo is approximately a 10-minute walk from the Metro Dupont Cirlce stop, exit NQ.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Wawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent eats in Dupont”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were the first patrons of the day on our visit to this restaurant. Despite that the waiter was very attentive, and the food came out very quickly. The lunch options are pretty limited and small compared to the gigantic size of the dinner portions. We will definitely be coming back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank admbwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    162
    89
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Laurel, nj
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little Italy in DC”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Food was fresh and delicious and the service incomparable. It was the traditional Buca di Beppo I had come to love in Cherry Hill, NJ before they closed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank antoinettenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not the best Italian but okay”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I've had better Italian food! Service and atmosphere were average and okay. Food was definitely over priced for not being the best Italian food I've ever had. We have buca in Houston and I always wanted to go so while at conference in DC we decided to check it out....and let's just say I have no desire to go back to the one in Houston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for the Family!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recommended by the hotel staff, this restaurant was amazing. The walls were lined with an eclectic mix of celebrities, average people and funny situations. It was a bit dark inside, spacious but tightly packed with tables.
The people next to us shared a pizza served on a board propped up with tomato cans.
The staff were inviting, accommodating and helpful. I highly recommend the family dining style where large platters are brought out to share.
The food was very good, not greasy or bland. Must try the brownie sundae! :O

I'd return here for a family dinner or romantic evening, or just by myself to sneak some comfort food. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonianWKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
186 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Family Style!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The food is outstanding but it comes family style, so you kill two meatballs with one buck. big bowls of pasta to be passed around, so no one goes hungry and for a very good price! You can't beat it if you are hungry and want great food!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tdear666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing