We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To DIE For”

Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown
Reserve with OpenTable
Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: M Street
Transit: Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“To DIE For”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is just amazing. You can see the pasta mama making the pasta upstairs and it is just surreal. I have been here a few times and my favorite dish is the ragu. There is always leftovers. The desert wine is really great too. The deserts aren't amazing in my opinion, especially for the level of restaurant, but the pasta is to die for. Service is good too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bostongirlinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,180
    450
    181
    67
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food but bear with inconsistent service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I always get the same dishes here for a good reason--as a starter, fried rice balls and caesar salad, and as main dishes, the Clinton pasta and (forget the Italian name) the fried cutlet. My already aggressive appetite goes wilder here, so I try to eat lighter the meal prior to dining here. Watching pasta mamas' art is quite an experience. The only warning is: servers can sometimes be hostile. Maybe they are in charge of two many table at once. Noise level is average to high.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank namheekim89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mason city
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great service and atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Highlight for us was the caramel eclair. Our waiter was very attentive. The arcini meatballs were excellent. It was fun watching the mamas make the pasta. Food wasn't really as exciting as we were expecting by the rave reviews. The spumoni cake was a disappointment. A $10 disappointment. Serving sizes are huge my husband and I split a meal

Helpful?
Thank cathyiMasonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangor,Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We chose Filomena for our last dinner in DC because of the reviews & menus. We certainly weren't disappointed!

My wife had the pasta "La Familia" with sausage, meatballs, and ribs. It was delicious, but the portion was huge, so we took it with us. I enjoyed "CANNELLONI FRUTTI DI MARE (Shellfish Cannelloni) ". Shrimp, crab, scallops. I thought I'd died & gone to heaven!

Our server, Dario, was great. Not overbearing, but always nearby when needed. When he brought back the box of leftover pasta, he brought a second container. "I saw you really liked the bread (we did!), so I brought you some." Then there was the post meal amaretto....

Filomena is certainly on our "must visit" list for DC!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ckm1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“LOVE Filomena”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Don't know if I want to give up this gem...
Nice staff. Great buzz...crowded. I had the Tortelloni di Michele. I almost wept. DELICIOUS. Complimentary cordials at the end???Soup to nuts, my new favorite DC restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust9396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing