We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service but crowded”

Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown
Reserve with OpenTable
Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: M Street
Transit: Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and service but crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

It is a nice italian restaurant with very good food and good service. However, it was extremely crowded. We called several weeks ahead of our trip and our table was near the wall and out of the way. There were many tables very close to each other with very little room to walk by them. Getting in and out is dicey.

The food was very good and the portions were more than adequate and the service was attentive. If you can find out when it isn't quite as busy, it will be a great dinner. We would go back for the food and service but the tightness of the tables is a negative.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floyd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    431
    177
    66
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Solid Food, Great Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Starting with a staff member making fresh pasta in the window to the street, great wait staff, good food and great Super Tuscan wine this is a winner. Rather packed for a weeknight - that says it all. On my return list for Washington DC trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravCT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT IMPRESSED”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Thought the food was below average. The chicken parm cutlets were very HARD to cut, tasted old and microwaved.
The sauce on the pasta was LOADED with red onions and not a true red color.
The bottle of wine cost a fortune and tasted like a $7.00 bottle.
Staff was pleasant but not attentive.
WAY OVER PRICED FOR LOW QUALITY.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Che Bella Cosa - Filomena Will Leave You Singing Its Praise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

It has the look and feel of what you expected an Italian restaurant to be maybe 20 years ago. Statutes greet you before entering different seating areas. Mirrors on the walls. Tons of lights and hearts hanging from the walls and ceilings in early celebration of Valentines Day. And yes, a loop of Italian restaurant musical classics playing over the speakers – O Sole Mio included. The only thing missing are photos of the various celebrities who likely have passed through the doors of this Georgetown classic.

We stopped in for lunch at the beginning of Washington’s restaurant week. We’d been eating at several of the Jose Andres restaurants and were feeling good about the small plates. Thus, we came to this meal with a little trepidation. But the aromas wafting through the restaurant made us forget about eating lightly and off we went.

We ordered as appetizers Arancini and Calamari. The Arancini was a ball of Arborio rice mixed with mozzarella and meat and then fried. It was serviced with a small gravy boat of the restaurant’s home made tomato sauce – this one had a little spice to it but was delicious. The calamari, our friendly waiter informed us, is soaked in milk for 24 hours before being cooked. That explained why it was so tender and tasty.

We moved onward to the main courses – the first was penne in vodka sauce. A classic dish perfectly prepared here. The pasta was the best cooked ala dente I have had in a restaurant. We also ordered a penne with sausage that was cooked with onions, mushrooms and herbs. All cooked in a nice red sauce that apparently had some Chianti tossed in!

The wine by the glass list was good – we had a Sicilian wine that was a little light but tasty. And a Super Tuscan that held up well to everything we ate.

As for the desserts – we are sure they were very good. But we had no room to see!

If you are in downtown Washington, it takes a combo of Metro and a good walk or patience waiting for the bus to get to Georgetown. But it is well worth the hike, especially if you stop by for a meal at this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Impeccable food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a memorable and romantic dinner over the holidays. Our waiter was top notch and our food and wine was exquisite! Can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBinVA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing