We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Great food, Great service, Great restaurant.”

Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown
Reserve with OpenTable
Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: M Street
Transit: Every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight, ride the Georgetown Metro Connection. Ridership is open to everyone! Picking up from the Rosslyn and Dupont Circle metro stations every ten minutes makes getting to Georgetown quick and easy.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WOW! Great food, Great service, Great restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Visited for our 15th wedding anniversary. Worth every penny. Pricey but huge portions and so wonderful. You see the Mamas making the pasta upstairs as you come in and the freshness showed in the food. The lobster sauce was AMAZING- was using the bread to sop it off the plate. Our waiter Angelo was wonderful with a wine recommendation and tips on the menu. The service was superb: I don't think my water or wine glass ever reached half empty and most of the time I never saw the refill happen. The restaurant is crowded and popular so you need reservations but the noise somehow fades to the background at the table and you can still carry on a conversation without yelling. You have to try it for yourself; you will be amazed. And full.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greymutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    432
    177
    66
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
354 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Fun New Year's Eve Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Dined here New Year's Eve before going to the Kennedy Center. We had made a reservation over a month before, but our table, in a high traffic area, wasn't the best. The holiday decorations were a little over-the-top tacky, but it made it fun.

The food and wine were delicious. We started at the bar with a glass of their Super Tuscan red wine and liked it so much we ordered a bottle when seated.

We both had caesar salads that were a bit overdressed, but were good and plentiful. The main dishes were truly outstanding. I had the Lasagna alla Bolognese with layers of fresh pasta, Ricotta & Mozzarella cheeses and the best Bolognese meat sauce (beef, Italian pork sausage, veal & veggies) I've ever had, even in Italy.

My husband had the Vitello Saltimbocca, scallopini of tender veal sautéed with Shiitake mushrooms & shallots & cooked in Marsala wine, which he also very much enjoyed.

We didn't have room for one of their tempting desserts, but they bring carafes of Sambuca and Amaretto to the table to enjoy. This is an old-fashioned Italian restaurant with great food and service and should not be missed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
327 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“holiday decor is over the top...good food too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've been to Finomena's before, but not around Xmas, so were pleasantly surprised at the amount of holiday decor that presented itself as we came down the stairs. The tree in the middle of the room had giant red balls with life size doves atop them. Everywhere we looked was decorated. How fun; we'll make a point of returning next winter. More to the point of this review, the food at Filomena's is plentiful and always most excellent. The fresh-made pasta, by the "pasta mamas" by the street level door, is always good, and in excellent sauce. Our waiter recommended a seafood risotto that was out of this world. The desserts were so tempting that, since we were full, we ordered some to go. As always, the complimentary sambuca or amaretto at the end of the meal is a nice touch. The service is most excellent. Filomena's is not a secret, though, so make reservations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goety911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

So welcoming from the start with the mama making the pasta in the window!! Fabulous Christmas decorations and the waiter was wonderful. Any desert on the menu is five star and all portions are huge!!! We should have split entrees. Dinner for 10 was about $500 worth it all!

Helpful?
Thank 2014PamelaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It won't disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had heard a lot about the restaurant before our visit. We went during the Christmas holidays. The place was very festively decorated and the typical warm Italian atmosphere. The food was as good as we had been told. Portions were also too large for the average diner to finish. So it is entirely possible to share a meal and be satisfied.
The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. The only minor issue was at the end of the meal, when they offered the complimentary after dinner drinks. A waitress from another table picked up the two bottles after about two minutes on our table and asking if we were finished. We really didn't want any more and can excuse that because of the holiday rush.
I guess the best review we could give is that we plan to return next Christmas season.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Filomena Ristorante - Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing