We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Washington DC

“Sat at the bar as I was dining”
Review of Old Ebbitt Grill

Old Ebbitt Grill
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 2/21
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #22 of 3,966 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 15th between F and G
Transit: Metro: Red Line to Metro Center, Orange/Blue to McPherson Square
Description: Established in 1856, the Old Ebbitt Grill was a favorite of Presidents Grant, Cleveland, Harding, and Theodore Roosevelt. The restaurant's decor is comprised of a Beaux-Arts facade, mahogany and velvet booths, and bars set in marble, brass, and beveled glass. Old Ebbitt serves a diverse selection of food including steaks, seafood, pasta, sandwiches, and also features an Oyster Bar with oysters form both coasts. Open early for breakfast and weekend brunch, and serving lunch, dinner and a late-night menu. Private and semi-private dining rooms including a rooftop overlooking the monuments and The White House.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sat at the bar as I was dining alone. Oysters were half price until 6pm so I had a dozen and they were fresh and fantastic. Nice selection of beer and wine. I had the crab cake entree and it was excellent. Fresh hot fries and two decent sized cakes. I’ll be back as I enjoyed the atmosphere, the friendly staff and the food was top notch.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ChgoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (12,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 12,638 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived on the end of the breakfast menu, but were kindly served. The food was simply average with the traditional breakfast choices. The combination of pears and apples on oatmeal with maple sugar was a good idea. However, the oats were gummy and the fruit was not freshly cut as it was brown on the edges. Service was good.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank catbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place , good food, but reservations are recommended as this is may be crowded with significant wait time.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Y9775HTlisat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been intending to dine at Old Ebbitt Grill for a couple of years but keep forgetting to make reservations well in advance. I thought I would miss our again this trip and then realized that they are opened for breakfast on weekdays. My daughter and I arrived at 9:00 AM and had no problem getting seated. Our server, Bryan, was very helpful and attentive. The atmosphere was beautiful decorated in mahogany and marble. Some of the hunting trophies that decorate the restaurant are said to have belonged to Teddy Roosevelt.

My daughter and I both ordered omelets and enjoyed a leisurely breakfast. I will definitely return on my next trip to DC.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank CindyP871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thought we'd try this restaurant, a virtual institution in DC. It was restaurant week, so the entire place was packed, making it unpleasant to dine there. The menu wasn't that inspiring, either.
The clam chowder and the salmon salad were good, but not really special.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank margaretc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Ebbitt Grill also viewed

 

Been to Old Ebbitt Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing