We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated”
Review of Old Ebbitt Grill

Old Ebbitt Grill
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 2/25
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #18 of 3,370 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: National Mall
Cross street: 15th between F and G
Transit: Metro: Red Line to Metro Center, Orange/Blue to McPherson Square
Description: Established in 1856, the Old Ebbitt Grill was a favorite of Presidents Grant, Cleveland, Harding, and Theodore Roosevelt. The restaurant's decor is comprised of a Beaux-Arts facade, mahogany and velvet booths, and bars set in marble, brass, and beveled glass. Old Ebbitt serves a diverse selection of food including steaks, seafood, pasta, sandwiches, and also features an Oyster Bar with oysters form both coasts. Open early for breakfast and weekend brunch, and serving lunch, dinner and a late-night menu. Private and semi-private dining rooms including a rooftop overlooking the monuments and The White House.
Reviewed February 21, 2019

so many people talk about how amazing this place is and how they highly recommend it, but i have been here a few times and think the name carries it a lot. Definitely could be considered a tourist trap since its right near the white house.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brookek822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (12,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,111 of 12,722 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2019 via mobile

We travel all over and we have never experienced better service and food. J-Luke made our trip amazing. Best attentive bartender hands down. Great personality-he just made it fun and had us wanting to come back for a second visit and a third which we did before we left back home. The food was amazing, made from scratch on site. In the heart of DC where you want to be. You have to visit Old Ebbits if your ever in DC. The history, charm, service and food are above any other. Go see J-Luke at the bar. He doesn’t disappoint.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

The atmosphere is so great, and service so old school classy! Best of all, the food is excellent! I had steak salad which featured two filet medallions on top. The dressing was perfectly tossed and all the ingredients were perfect together. My son had a bacon cheeseburger and fries. He LOVED it, even stating that the fries were perfectly seasoned and the best he’s ever had. We went back for more the next day. Even better the second time!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank BoyMom320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

This place was so popular, we could only get a brunch reservation. The steak and eggs were outstanding, as was the eggs benedict. Wait-staff was friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was super funky and great location (like a 5 minute walk to the White House). I would go back!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

Old Ebbitt Grill had s fun atmosphere with the charm you would expect in DC. The food was very good.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank suash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Ebbitt Grill also viewed

 

Been to Old Ebbitt Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.