We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Power Lunch with Politics”
Review of Old Ebbitt Grill

Old Ebbitt Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Ebbitt Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 3,215 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 15th between F and G
Transit: Metro: Red Line to Metro Center, Orange/Blue to McPherson Square
Description: Established in 1856, the Old Ebbitt Grill was a favorite of Presidents Grant, Cleveland, Harding, and Theodore Roosevelt. The restaurant's decor is comprised of a Beaux-Arts facade, mahogany and velvet booths, and bars set in marble, brass, and beveled glass. Old Ebbitt serves a diverse selection of food including steaks, seafood, pasta, sandwiches, and also features an Oyster Bar with oysters form both coasts. Open early for breakfast and weekend brunch, and serving lunch, dinner and a late-night menu. Private and semi-private dining rooms including a rooftop overlooking the monuments and The White House.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Power Lunch with Politics”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Have been going here for many years. Moved away 29 years ago, so a trip to DC is not complete without a drink and a meal here. Far more touristy than in the old days of the 80's. Don't waste time waiting for a table, sit at the bar like a local Capital Hill VIP. Oysters and the Bloody Mary served by a very friendly bartender. Raw bar choices are the best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Masparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,859
    2,885
    794
    209
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Place!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Found this place through other online reviews. It was well worth the visit. At 11:45 AM there was already a half hour wait. The place was packed and pretty loud but when our time came we were seated in the back which was much quieter. It was a beautiful room. We started with the crab and artichoke appetizer which was delicious and wound up having the pumpkin french toast for brunch. The food was great and the service was excellent. We would definitely return next time we are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne_D_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
244 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We eat here almost every time we're in D.C.. Reservations are highly recommended. We had reservations and were seated immediately in the Atrium area. Our server, Shoaib, was excellent. He really catered to our needs without being intrusive. We started with the fried calamari....very good. For lunch my wife had the pumpkin ravioli which was excellent and our friend had the fish and chips which was fried perfectly. I asked if I could still get the Eggs Chesapeake, even tho' it wasn't on the menu. Shoaib went to the chef and made it happen. It's my favorite dish here. We've recommended the restaurant to many of our friends and they've enjoyed it as much as we have over the years.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This certainly is the place to be seen in DC. you must book a table but it's worth it. It was noisy, or vibrant and buzzing, depending on your viewpoint, and the food we had - steak - the best. a must visit place for DC in a city that's full of great places to go and to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lobster Pie, WHAT?!?!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This lovely establishment was stuffed to the max with customers when we decided to venture in off of the street. We sat at the bar while painted angels twirled overhead. On the menu, there was a pie. Not just any pie, LOBSTER pie. It was a New England version of Shepard's Pie, with a bowl of lobster, peas, cream and that wonderful Old Bay blend that seems to find it's way into many a dish on the East coast. Then this lovely pie was finished with whipped potatoes and set in an oven to bake a crispy potato crust on the satchel of wonders below. I might have had a few mimosas beforehand, but none-the-less, when the time comes to return to DC, I will hope to god this dish is still available here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4figgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Ebbitt Grill also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Old Ebbitt Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing