We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good old standby”
Review of Old Ebbitt Grill

Old Ebbitt Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Ebbitt Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 15th between F and G
Transit: Metro: Red Line to Metro Center, Orange/Blue to McPherson Square
Description: Established in 1856, the Old Ebbitt Grill was a favorite of Presidents Grant, Cleveland, Harding, and Theodore Roosevelt. The restaurant's decor is comprised of a Beaux-Arts facade, mahogany and velvet booths, and bars set in marble, brass, and beveled glass. Old Ebbitt serves a diverse selection of food including steaks, seafood, pasta, sandwiches, and also features an Oyster Bar with oysters form both coasts. Open early for breakfast and weekend brunch, and serving lunch, dinner and a late-night menu. Private and semi-private dining rooms including a rooftop overlooking the monuments and The White House.
Braintree, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still a good old standby”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The food is not out of this world, but it is good enough and the history and character of this iconic landmark are unbeatable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank alpinemillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,991
    2,938
    809
    212
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
224 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“You must go here at least once!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant a few years ago and now we seek it out each and every time we go to Washington, which is at least three or four times per year. It is a very historic place, I read it is the oldest restaurant in Washington D.C. The atmosphere is absolutely beautiful. It is set to an old 1800's bar and restaurant, the food is excellent, especially the Seafood Jumbalaya. You can't go wrong. It is a little on the pricey side but you surely get your money's worth. I have never left there once hungry or feeling like I got taken for a ride. Go there and see for yourself, you won't regret it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garretson, South Dakota
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Meal as Historic Old Ebbitt Grill”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I had dinner there last Saturday Night. I love their Menu.. Always changing, and new things. My wife had the Irish Salmon and I had the monthly special Rockfish. Both were excellent. The flavors were outstanding. Compared to most DC restaurants, Old Ebbitt's is very reasonably priced. They have a very nice selection on beers on tap, so we both had a DC Brau Pale Ale which was excellent. The wait staff was excellent. I will go back next time I am in DC.. Love the place

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Locals and travlers mingle”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Trendy tourists rub shoulders with busy locals at this staple institution around the corner from the White House. The good news is that the food is great - this spot isn't plodding along based on its location or reputation. The shrimp cocktail is a sight to see (huge!), and the oysters are a big hit for those who enjoy the flavor. Try to visit during "off" hours to get the quickest seat, though the people-watching is among the top reasons to stop in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qlever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still A Great Place To Eat”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Some would say been there done it, but I say been there continue to do it! The food is great, the wait staff is caring and attentive, the prices arn't too bad, the bar is excellent...so what more can you want? Went with a large group and they wisked us right in and seated us. The food was hot, well prepared and enjoyable. The only problem with the whole experience was our own fault because we ate too much since the portions were large and really dozed through a meeting right after that. Will I go back? YOU BET!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank buzzrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Ebbitt Grill also viewed

 

Been to Old Ebbitt Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing