We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home and high level service at Malolo B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haaren, the Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt at home and high level service at Malolo B&B”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We have enjoyed the full 7 days we stayed at the Malolo B&B. Chef George and David made us feel at home as of the first day we stayed there, and their serviced is to be considered at a high level amongst B&B's: pick up service from and to the airport, but also to and from the metro, breakfast served with a wide variety of choices, with every day changing warm dishes as prepared by Chef George. Additional requests were never to much asked for.
But also their personal touch made us feel welcome and at home. They have created a little Samoa sister Island in the middle of Marshall Heights, Washington DC.

We will advise you to our friends and family as THE place to stay if you want a home feeling in Washington DC.

Chef george and David, thanks for your hospitality and service!

Helma and Pierre.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre_Heuvelmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Talofa Pierre!

Fa'afetal Lava for the wonderful review! We are so happy that we were able to make your week's stay a wonderful experience. We hope you enjoyed meeting the various guests while you were here and it seems you made some friends as well. It was nice to hear everyone sharing their days experience each day with you. We admire that you took the time to jog in the mornings before breakfast especially after a night's dinner prepared by Chef George. LOL!

Once again we thank you very much for the wonderful BANNER! It is now a part of the Malolo Bed and Breakfast decorations. Just like the legend of the Turtle and Shark from American Samoa that I entertain our guests with... The Paper Crown your wife made for me will always be a story I will tell the future guests.... "how the queen of Netherlands stayed at Malolo and left her crown for me". : )

Mahalo until we meet again,

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
183
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We took a chance and opted to stay her for our recent spring break family trip. Upon arriving we noticed the location to be a little further out from the sights than we expected. We explored the commute into DC and found that the trip was not very far at all. In addition, they would provide you Metro passes and even took the time to educate travelers on how to use them. So even though the location was a bit farther than expected, the guys at Malolo made it easy to get where we needed to go with Metro passes or great directions.

The actual building is a brand new construction. Everything is so nice and clean inside. The building has three levels and it was wonderful place to stay while we were there. David and Chef George go to extremes to make sure your entire stay is nothing short of world class. They change sheets everyday, they always have fresh towels and they will do whatever they can to make your stay perfect.

The common kitchen area was very inviting and fun to hang around and socialize with other guests or just get info about the DC area. The kitchen is always open to get a snack or Chef George is always willing to prepare you a meal. The breakfasts were excellent. Lots of variety and with full flavor. They are willing to accommodate any requests.

We had a great stay and would recommend anyone check them out while in the DC area!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soccercoach18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Talofa soccercoach18!

Mahalo for the wonderful comments! What a wonderful treat to have such an athletic family in our home. We are so in awe to hear how your daughter was a stellar volleyball player and your son was such a soccer and baseball athlete. They are wonderful kids. We are glad you all had a wonderful time in DC and hope that you all were able to cross off all the "Restaurants" on your to EAT list. LOL! GO "Open Table"!!!

We still have your 'beverages' in the fridge. : )

Please say hi to the kids for us!

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I booked this hotel for my parents 50th wedding Anniversary and it couldn't have been more perfect! Chef George and David did everything to make it a special stay, including taking them under their wings and giving them great advice on where to go, when to go and shuttling them to the metro station. My folks were spoiled, had wonderful food and company and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: My folks can not say enough about how wonderful this B&B was, and how clean and beautiful the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlj214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Fa'afetai lava mj214!

The time spent with your parents was priceless. We are honored to be part of the their 50th Anniversary moments. Chef enjoyed the talks with your mom outside on the deck and your dad was the perfect gentleman. As with all our guests, saying goodbye to them was very hard as it felt like it was our parents that we were seeing off at the station. We wish them many more anniversaries. Your parents are the greatest and we can see that they love their children very much! Oh one more thing... We want to know more about this Barrel of Whiskey with your dad's name on it. LOL

Tofa Soifua

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you like staying at Bed and Breakfasts and coming to DC – this place is a must.

David and Chef George are awesome. They are down to earth, great people, and will do anything to help you have a perfect stay in DC.

The area where this Malolo is located is slightly outside of the downtown DC area, but safe and quiet. You will have to use the Metro which is inexpensive and very easy to navigate. David and George will also drop off and pick up at the station. We had fun using the Metro.

The Rooms are so clean, large and beautifully decorated. The bed is comfortable with quality sheets and pillows, nice TV and some free movie selections. Great showers with supper soft towels.

The Breakfast is so delicious with a wide range of quality selections to satisfy anyone’s taste. If you are lucky to be there on a night when Chef George is cooking dinner for the guests, do not pass it up. His dinner was the best we had in our 4-day stay in DC. He is definitely a “Top Chef” in our book.

The DC area has so much to offer, and we had a great time there. However, I think what we will remember the most will be the two new friends we have found in DC. Thank you David and George.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Skip and Sue,

Thank you for the wonderful review. Chef and I are happy that we were part of your travel memories for Skip's Surprise birthday trip. We loved how you had the dinner plans and sight seeing trips all organized before your arrival. I really enjoyed when you picked my brains on where to eat and have a nice cocktail or two via email as you plan your trip. You two are a fun and loving couple and can see the love between you two is strong. It is very hard when we have guests stay for awhile and then watch them drive off. We look forward to connecting with you both in the near future. In the meantime, please be safe and watch out for little girls on scooter!! LOL.

P.S. George has been working hard on the garden since you left. Stay tune on facebook for the pictures.

Mahalo,

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Chef George and David are very gracious hosts and made our DC trip so enjoyable. The rooms are very big and clean. The beds are SO comfortable. The food is excellent and we are so happy we stayed at Malolo. Cannot say enough good things!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Stephanie D!

We miss you both and had some great laughs. I hope you both made it back to your respective homes without much hassle. Your mom is just a hoot and she is very lucky to have a wonderful daughter like you. We enjoyed the talks and hope that one day you get to open the dance school of your dreams and share the excitement and joy we see in our eyes when you talk of dance. Good luck on your exams and we wish you the best of luck for your new position.

Keep in touch,

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Chef George and David made my stay one to remember. Not only did they help me get around town (even scouting out an alternate route around a traffic jam once I picked up a rental car), but the breakfast and morning visit started off my day well. My only regret was I did not have more time to enjoy their hospitality - I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Chris R

Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments. I still smile when I recall the burning RV on the way to the rental car place. I am glad no one got seriously hurt. More importantly,We are happy you made it to your first meeting and had a fruitful day. We wish you the best with your business. Chef and I look forward to your next visit with us. Tofa Soifua (Farewell) until we meet again.

Fa'afetai Lava,

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My train from NYC was delayed significantly because of a surprise snowstorm. David and Chef George were completely accommodating and even came to the train station to pick up our luggage for us while we continued on to our 3.5 pre-booked night tour. They made sure we knew how to use the smart card to navigate the metro system and the room that we stayed in at Malolo was very clean and comfortable. We had delicious omelettes prepared for us at breakfast and dinner was even offered for a good price, but we were out touring and could not take advantage of it. My wife and I feel like David and Chef George are like family now. Thank you for a wonderful first-time visit to Washington D.C.! We will be sure to spread the news about this hospitable b&b.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthBaycitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Talofa SouthBayCitizen

Thank you for the wonderful review. Not often that I get a guest who actually have a Son-In-Law who is Samoan. So that was a wonderful treat for me. You instantly became family based on Samoan Family Laws... LOL.

We are glad that you were able to cross off much on your to do list and having a special pre-arrange tour with your Congress person never hurts. Please keep in touch and who knows we may be in your neighborhood soon. : )

Fa'afetai Lava,

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
351 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,458 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 35 in Washington DC
693 reviews
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#8 of 35 in Washington DC
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Bed and Breakfast

Property: Malolo Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5213 B St SE, Washington DC, DC 20019-6407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malolo Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome and Delicious Food awaits you at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, Washington DC! Feel like a part of the 'Aiga'(Family) when you stay at Malolo Bed and Breakfast and experience outstanding South Pacific hospitality in a comfortable environment that feels like home! So we say Talofa (Greetings) and Afio Mai (Welcome) and make Malolo Bed & Breakfast your home and Aiga (Family) while you visit the DC Metro area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Malolo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing