We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a Find…”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you like staying at Bed and Breakfasts and coming to DC – this place is a must.

David and Chef George are awesome. They are down to earth, great people, and will do anything to help you have a perfect stay in DC.

The area where this Malolo is located is slightly outside of the downtown DC area, but safe and quiet. You will have to use the Metro which is inexpensive and very easy to navigate. David and George will also drop off and pick up at the station. We had fun using the Metro.

The Rooms are so clean, large and beautifully decorated. The bed is comfortable with quality sheets and pillows, nice TV and some free movie selections. Great showers with supper soft towels.

The Breakfast is so delicious with a wide range of quality selections to satisfy anyone’s taste. If you are lucky to be there on a night when Chef George is cooking dinner for the guests, do not pass it up. His dinner was the best we had in our 4-day stay in DC. He is definitely a “Top Chef” in our book.

The DC area has so much to offer, and we had a great time there. However, I think what we will remember the most will be the two new friends we have found in DC. Thank you David and George.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Skip and Sue,

Thank you for the wonderful review. Chef and I are happy that we were part of your travel memories for Skip's Surprise birthday trip. We loved how you had the dinner plans and sight seeing trips all organized before your arrival. I really enjoyed when you picked my brains on where to eat and have a nice cocktail or two via email as you plan your trip. You two are a fun and loving couple and can see the love between you two is strong. It is very hard when we have guests stay for awhile and then watch them drive off. We look forward to connecting with you both in the near future. In the meantime, please be safe and watch out for little girls on scooter!! LOL.

P.S. George has been working hard on the garden since you left. Stay tune on facebook for the pictures.

Mahalo,

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
182
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Chef George and David are very gracious hosts and made our DC trip so enjoyable. The rooms are very big and clean. The beds are SO comfortable. The food is excellent and we are so happy we stayed at Malolo. Cannot say enough good things!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Stephanie D!

We miss you both and had some great laughs. I hope you both made it back to your respective homes without much hassle. Your mom is just a hoot and she is very lucky to have a wonderful daughter like you. We enjoyed the talks and hope that one day you get to open the dance school of your dreams and share the excitement and joy we see in our eyes when you talk of dance. Good luck on your exams and we wish you the best of luck for your new position.

Keep in touch,

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Chef George and David made my stay one to remember. Not only did they help me get around town (even scouting out an alternate route around a traffic jam once I picked up a rental car), but the breakfast and morning visit started off my day well. My only regret was I did not have more time to enjoy their hospitality - I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Chris R

Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments. I still smile when I recall the burning RV on the way to the rental car place. I am glad no one got seriously hurt. More importantly,We are happy you made it to your first meeting and had a fruitful day. We wish you the best with your business. Chef and I look forward to your next visit with us. Tofa Soifua (Farewell) until we meet again.

Fa'afetai Lava,

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My train from NYC was delayed significantly because of a surprise snowstorm. David and Chef George were completely accommodating and even came to the train station to pick up our luggage for us while we continued on to our 3.5 pre-booked night tour. They made sure we knew how to use the smart card to navigate the metro system and the room that we stayed in at Malolo was very clean and comfortable. We had delicious omelettes prepared for us at breakfast and dinner was even offered for a good price, but we were out touring and could not take advantage of it. My wife and I feel like David and Chef George are like family now. Thank you for a wonderful first-time visit to Washington D.C.! We will be sure to spread the news about this hospitable b&b.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthBaycitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Talofa SouthBayCitizen

Thank you for the wonderful review. Not often that I get a guest who actually have a Son-In-Law who is Samoan. So that was a wonderful treat for me. You instantly became family based on Samoan Family Laws... LOL.

We are glad that you were able to cross off much on your to do list and having a special pre-arrange tour with your Congress person never hurts. Please keep in touch and who knows we may be in your neighborhood soon. : )

Fa'afetai Lava,

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Chef George and David made our recent trip to Washington DC one to remember. Everything was excellent. Food was awesome! Room was awesome! Bed was great for a very comfortable sleep! Will tell everyone! Harvey and Angie, Taylors, SC

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Harvey H

Thank you again for making memories with us here at Malolo. Chef and I enjoyed having you stay with us. The weather is getting warmer and hopefully when you both come up again we have more done on the backyard. Oh by the way, we had 'cupcakes' for 3 more days after you both left. LOL

Mahalo,

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Malolo B&B a true gem, thank you trip advisor for helping us finding this perfect small B&B. Our hosts made us feel welcome, went out of their way to make our visit to Washington a perfect beginning for our southern road trip. Our room was perfect, the outstanding hospitality, daily fresh snowy white towels in our bathroom, perfect room service, water and chocolate delights in our room, to outstanding gourmet breakfasts Chef George prepared or the wonderful dinners we were lucky enough to enjoy, it was the best B&B experience ever. As a seasoned B&B travelers we were impressed. My friend and I can't wait to return. Don't let the up and coming neighborhood of Marshall Heights deter you from visiting this beautifully South Sea island decorated B&B. Our host David explained "Malolo" in the Samoan language means to rest peacefully and so we did. If you were allowed one word to describe this B&B it would be "perfect"!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Mahalo Barbara C!

Chef and I are happy to have been part of your adventure and trip in Washington DC. We hope that you are having a wonderful visit with your children and we loved the tips on the baked pineapple entree. We will definitely have to try it out. Honk your horn when you pass by DC on your way home! LOL

David & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and made to feel perfectly at home through the constant attentions of Dave and George. The accommodations were capacious and spotless. The quality and variety (choice) of food were top notch. We were coddled far beyond the call of duty. We were chauffeured to and from the metro and delivered in good time to the Baltimore Washington International Airport. We were given good advice on DC in general and helped in other ways (e.g., with our tablet computer). DVDs were available on demand (we enjoyed a great recent film in our room). Our hosts appeared to be indefatigable - and were always cheerful and helpful. The times of a couple of meals (family style - buffet) were adjusted to accommodate our schedule..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Earl K

Thank you for the review and we enjoyed having your two. Chef was honored and happy to have the pleasure of cooking dinner for you both on your nights here at Malolo. We loved the talks and enjoyed listening to you both talk about your children and grandchildren. It is always nice to be traveling around the world to visit them and you both make such good grandparents.

Please take care and hope to see you again soon.

Fa'afetai Lava

Dave & Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
341 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,455 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,094 reviews
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 35 in Washington DC
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Bed and Breakfast

Property: Malolo Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5213 B St SE, Washington DC, DC 20019-6407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malolo Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome and Delicious Food awaits you at Malolo Bed and Breakfast, Washington DC! Feel like a part of the 'Aiga'(Family) when you stay at Malolo Bed and Breakfast and experience outstanding South Pacific hospitality in a comfortable environment that feels like home! So we say Talofa (Greetings) and Afio Mai (Welcome) and make Malolo Bed & Breakfast your home and Aiga (Family) while you visit the DC Metro area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Malolo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing