We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Asia 54

Asia 54
Ranked #425 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is my new go to sushi joint and a welcome addition to a neighborhood with tons of mediocre sushi restaurants (2 others a block a way).

The fish is fresh. The dishes are creative and thoughtful. The prices are reasonable. And the environment is mellow and clean. I do wish they had outdoor seating but that isn't a possibility on their 2nd floor location.

There is a reason they have great reviews. I almost didn't want to give them five stars because this place is going to blow up and be impossible to get into soon. F it. As long as I can pick up - I'm still happy. Good luck!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodfella40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    49
    16
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy !”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Food was fresh and delicious and staff very pleasant
Restaurant was clean and not noisy like most tourist spots
would highly recommend

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a sure highlite in Washington for us!! The food was exquisite and the service was so so friendly and accommodating!

We had a small child and they accommodated a dish of food he could eat and bought it out quickly so he settled into eating and we could relax and look at the menu and enjoy!!

A definite MUST in DC

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMDA16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic staff”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited this place off the back of trip advisor reviews. The food and service were very good, the sushi in particular was excellent. Thought the red curry was probably not completely authentic but still quite nice. Would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kosta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was on a business trip in Washington DC and visited Asia 54 on August 2, 2013. The restaurant is located upstairs in a building, so the location is a bit confusing. When I entered the restaurant, it was appealing, clean, and had a nice ambience. Although all of the servers provided excellent service, Jeff was our server who had a contagious smile and provided outstanding service. His suggestions were right on!

I visited this place with my brother and a friend, and this is what we ordered:

Pad Thai (with choice of meat) - The pad thai came on a plate that contained pad thai noodles with beef, bean sprouts, lettuce, carrots, and a lime. I had to mix all of these ingredients together, so it was interesting. It was a little spicy, but the combination of all these flavors was delicious!

Garden Roll - The rice paper garden roll was stuffed with a lot of shredded lettuce, a couple of shredded carrots, and one half-sliced shrimp. The flavors and sauce were okay, nothing special about it.

Crispy Roll - The crispy roll was lightly fried, but the sauce that came with the crispy roll tasted watered down. This too, was okay and nothing special.

Lemongrass Tom Yum Soup - This soup was delicious and yummy.

Sushi Sampler - The sushi sampler came with 5 fresh sushi rolls. This dish was simple, clean, and fresh.

Crispy Duck - The crispy duck and vegetables were served over nested fried noodles. My friend ate this meal, and she said that it was okay. She would have enjoyed the meal if more sauce was provided.

Claypot Meal (with choice of meat)- My brother chose this meal with beef. It was also served with a small bowl of rice. He said it was delicious, but be careful when the servers deliver this meal to you because it is delivered in a clay pot of sizzling sauce, beef, and vegetables Some of the sizzles popped into my brother's eye and it hurt. Keep it away from your face until the sizzling stops.

Green Tea Ice Cream with Fried Banana - This dessert was delicious and fun to eat.

The bathroom is located down a steep flight of stairs, so be careful walking down. The bathroom was very stuffy and warm, so I didn't enjoy this part of the restaurant at all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia 54 also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Asia 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing