We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monuments by Moonlight”

Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.00*
and up
Washington DC Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour by Trolley
Ranked #15 of 146 Tours in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Centerville, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Monuments by Moonlight”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a great idea for a tour, and they cover a lot of major sites, which are great at night. However, our guide, Jason, kept telling stories about when he lived in Florida, how he met his wife, etc. I know he knew a lot about Washington, so I don't know why he took up so much time talking about his personal life. There is plenty to tell about DC and all the monuments. Also, he said we would be back at Union Station at 10, but we didn't get back until 10:35. That made it difficult for us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    103
    32
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend Monuments by Moonlight tour”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We took the Monuments by Moonlight tour. It was great! Not only did we get to see all the monuments at the stops (Lincoln, Vietman, Korea, MLK, FDR, Iwo Jima) but much of the city as well. Our guide, Eric, was very knowledgeable. I was a little worried my 8 year old would get bored on a 2.5 hour tour not the case! If you're looking for a tour in DC, I recommend Old Town Trolley.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Moonlight tour”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Did the Moonlight Tour. Which means you are on an allocated bus with an allocated driver. The evening we did the tour we had an excellent driver who knew his stuff and was a font of interesting information. There are various get off sites to let you look at particular monuments but you then get back onto the same bus with the same driver. The only downside as with all tours is that you do rely on the other members of the tour coming back on time but you cannot blame the tour company for that. Would heartily recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old Town Trolley Moonlight Tour is great”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I always take the Old Town Trolley if they are in a city I am visiting. In DC, I took the Moonlight Tour of the Monuments. It was the highlight of the trip. Our driver (Dan P or David P? Bus 319) was great. He ahead great stories and gave us helpful advice in seeing the monuments (at the Lincoln, Korean, Vietnam stop, hit the Korean last as it is very creepy at the darkest point). The memorials are very different at night and this tour is a great way to get around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank csquared5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Electric beauty”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I would have given this tour an excellent rating but our guide got a lot of facts wrong despite his enthusiasm. Aaron burr did not duel Hamilton in Lafayette park, the 3 servicemen has no officers or Navajo code talkers and Mary surrault was not booths mistress nor was booth brought back to doctor be hung, I could continue but these were the most egregious.
Ps when people try to correct misinformation don' t bully them

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MrAllan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour also viewed

 

Been to Monuments by Moonlight Night Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing