We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Private Tours of Washington
Save
Review Highlights
Marvelous Tour with Gil

Came to DC with grown children for 2 days. They had never been before so I wanted to book a good... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jane0270jane
,
New London, New Hampshire
via mobile
I Had a Ball With Private Tours of Washington Because of Bill Thomas!

No doubt the one undeniable reason Private Tours of Washington, or PTW, enjoys the excellent... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
lnraug1
,
Austin, Texas
Read all 412 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Washington DC
from $15.00
More Info
from $400.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
from $54.00
More Info
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
402
7
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
402
7
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour tour customized tour his knowledge wonderful tour white house arlington cemetery embassy row pentagon memorial nation's capital come alive dc area highlight of our trip would highly recommend this tour supreme court three hours library of congress american history
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 412 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our full-day tour with Tony (our guide) and Monte (our driver) on Monday, May 23rd, 2016. Tony’s expert knowledge of the Washington area, the Mt. Vernon site and Arlington Cemetery made the day memorable. If I were to single out one element of the tour as our favorite (which is difficult) it would be the changing of the guard ceremony at Arlington. Tony's intricate explanation of the ceremony details gave us expert insight as we enjoyed the event. We had a perfect viewing spot, catching the moment that the officer and relief guard began their walk on the left side of the steps until they exited at the end of the ceremony.

The Mt. Vernon commentary was detailed and accurate as Tony added many details about the Washington family, the furniture and decor in the mansion and the events of the era as we walked the grounds. Who would have known that the 18th century version of a port-a-potty, discretely tucked away along one of the main paths, was called a ‘necessary’? We learned that the intense color of the verdigris green paint in the mansion’s small dining room was a subtle sign of the Washington’s wealth. Small but significant details like these throughout the tour enhanced our understanding of the First President’s life at home.

Tony's recommendations on what to see on future trips was greatly appreciated. Two of his recommendations, the FDR Memorial and the WW II Memorial, are both beautiful and less crowded in the busy summer tourist season.

Monte, our driver, expertly steered through Washington traffic with flawless navigation. When we exited Arlington Cemetery it was pouring rain, we were thoroughly drenched, and seeing Monte waiting with the car was a very welcome sight! He was a very engaging young man and added to our overall experience.

A recommendation from Bill, the owner, for lunch at Balducci's Deli as we left Mt. Vernon was spot on. We loved the deli - our only regret is that we don't have a comparable market here at home in NV! In summary, we received more than our money’s worth as our expectations were greatly exceeded – DC Private Tours is a highly recommended tour company!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Tess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

We booked a last minute tour appointment for Sunday night thinking we wouldn't stand a chance ( on the memorial weekend. ) Bill and his team were prompt and professional in responding to our email. They personalised a tour for us incorporating a few requests from us as to our specific interests. Bill's a hoot and extremely knowledgeable. His in-depth dialogue during the tour was entertaining as well as educational. He is well versed in US History and knows every possible finicky detail about Washington, the political scene and the (murky) lives of some its denizens. Well worth it to book this tour. Monte our driver was also well educated and articulate and contributed some interesting perspectives. The three hour tour was comfortable and luxurious. If you are after a unique and personal experience in touring Washington this is the way to do it. Highly recommended..

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank AstridWappler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

We did a 4 hour tour one day and then a 3 hour night tour the next day. Tony was our guide on both days, and he is the best! We learned so much at each memorial and my daughter appreciated that he showed her the best places to take pictures. I love private tours because they let you off and pick you up to minimize walking. There is no way we could have seen all we did during Memorial weekend without these tours, and we would have not learned so much about the murals, etc.at each monument. FDR Memorial was one of our favorites, and I could imagine us just walking through on our own and not learning a thing! He was willing to answer questions and never made us feel rushed. I would encourage anyone looking for a great experience to contact and PTW and request Tony for your guide. Thank you so many great memories!

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank maxineb175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Celebrating my 80th birthday, my friend and I were delighted to have Monte and Tony to guide us. Monte was a superb driver in that crazy traffic and his big smile and courteous manner were just the best. Tony, our guide was just as pleasant and his knowledge of the Smithsonians was really impressive. We thoroughly enjoyed our full day tour with these two and would recommend them highly!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

We toured with Tony on Sunday, Gil on Monday and Tuesday. Both guides did a great job helping us understand what we were seeing and steering us so we saw the best sights in the optimum time including many that we would not have considered without their recommendation. We also had an SUV booked by PTW. Driven by Ligor it was clean and having the vehicle made our trip so much better than our last trip which we did walking and taking cabs. PTW is not cheap but in our opinion it was worth the money.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews