We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Daikaya

Daikaya
Ranked #54 of 3,199 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I've had ramen in Japan and the ramen served at Daikaya is comparable in quality. I had the Shoyu ramen and my friend tried the spicy miso ramen. The broth tasted excellent and the noodles were high quality and imported from Sapporo.

Everything with the exception of the rice ($2) is pricey. The ramen itself ranges from $12-15 and if you order a few add-ons (wakame, protein etc.), this can balloon to $14-18. I've tried ramen in several other Japanese restaurants across the country and find that $9-11 is a more reasonable price range.

Our waitress (woman with short hair and a nose ring) wasn't rude but she wasn't pleasant either. Upon asking about our gyoza order, she responded "it takes some time... remember?"

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    128
    47
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Hip, family-friendly, perfect service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We went with a mixed-age (11 - 64) group of 6, which included a picky child, 3 vegetarians, all of slightly different persuasions, including one gluten-free low-carber, and my Chinese-American, japanophile carnivorous brother-in-law. A tough crowd to please, and please us all Daikaya did. The server was friendly and accommodating and lightning-fast. This was my first experience of ramen that wasn't of the noodle-brick-plus-flavor-pack variety favored by the undergraduate set, and I am now a total convert. i thought this ramen thing was just another annoying hipstery enthusiasm. My hipster bil, who has sampled it all over the world, was also very impressed, and remarked that the egg side was the best he had had, very flavorful and cooked to perfection. We'll be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyPlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So so ramen, excellent gyoza and service~ very busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Tasty but it's not traditional ramen shop you would expect in Japan. Small menu and definitely too pricy for the food. It's a hip place for young people to hang out so it's not family- friendly (no booster seat) if you want to bring your little ones. We were disappointed at the quality of the ramen but their gyoza was excellent! I've had many gyoza and various different regional ramen in Japan and we will not go back again for the ramen but for gyoza~ yes yes yes!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redcubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Review of Daikaya Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Pros: Very interesting and tasty take on brunch. Many items have been redone to be a cool fusion of typical brunch foods and Japanese cuisine. For example their menu includes chicken and waffles, and "bagel" and lox. Friendly service. Plates can be shared. Very Japanese atmosphere. In the bathroom there was something playing on the speaker but it wasn't music. It was some little girl speaking what I assume is Japanese. Weird but fun.

Cons: Tiny portions. For us three we ordered 4 things to share and all ended very hungry and with a check for more than 45 dollars.

Summary: Brunch here is great if what you want is to try some new and tasty preparations of classic brunch items. This is not a place to really dine unless you are willing to spend a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank g-raterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best place in DC for authentic Japanese food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is the most authentic Japanese restaurant I've ever been to. Up on the second floor in the coolest section of DC, Penn Quarter, the bar specializes in Sake, Shochu and Japanese Whisky with dozens of varieties of each. Following the current trend of small plates, Daikaya Izakaya amazes with flavors both subtle and complex from grilled Avocado to Octopus to beef tongue and chicken livers.
The visual appeal of the restaurant, especially the bar, is wonderful with a back lite bar done in a seductive red tone.
If you are not familiar with Japanese food, ask your server what he or she recommendation and follow their suggestions and you can't go wrong!
The first floor of this hot spot is a noodle shop that I plan on visiting ASAP.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daikaya also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Daikaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing