We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pho in DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sprig and Sprout

Sprig and Sprout
Ranked #831 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Description: DC's First Flex Casual Vietnamese Restaurant!Authentic Vietnamese cuisine delivered in modern American style. Two levels give you the choice to our quick self-service deli on the main floor, or go upstairs to our fully loaded bar and cozy table service dining. On the main floor, you can watch your food being made fresh to order, knowing positively that nothing is microwaved or prepackaged. Help yourself to our "S&S Bar" of fresh herbs. At Sprig & Sprout you can have a quality meal while on the run. Upstairs browse over 40 varieties of the most popular craft beers and sought after imports. Have fun with our Asian herb and spice inspired cocktail list. Wash the day away during our "An Nhau" Happy Hour, which is the Vietnamese rendition of eating small plates and drinking with friends. In either venue, you'll find a hip, smart approach to Vietnamese cuisine and always genuine flavors.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pho in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I eat here about once a week and started wondering how other pho compared, so I wondered into Pho 14 in VanNess, voted best in DC for 2014.

With pho it boils down to the
recipe, and Sprig&Sprout's recipe is just better. That's why I'm voting IT number one pho in DC!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneauSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid basic Vietnamese ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Good pho, good sandwiches. Nothing extra exciting but the quality is consistent downstairs. Worth a visit. I've gone several times. The ice coffee is great

Helpful?
Thank acroglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best bite in Glover Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I have lived in the neighborhood for 14 years and have seen restaurants come and go. I was so happy to see this place move in and was not disappointed with the food. It really is the best place to eat on the block - try it! My fave is the Bahn Mie (sp?) with pork belly and lots of crunchy slaw. Add hot sauce for an additional kick. Oh and the tofu fries are excellent too. My wife loves the pho also...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great addition to Glover Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

They may not serve Pho and Banh Mi as good as some more authentic places, but I love the food here none the less. Good staff, fresh ingredients, take out, and now a full bar with great beers and food upstairs. You can't go wrong.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NativeDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh & Plenty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Warning: bring your appetite or bring a friend to share your food with!

My daughter an I stopped in Sprig and Sprout because it was just down the street from our hotel. She ordered the pho, and I ordered the chicken vermicelli. I was astounded at the size of the servings, and I felt so guilty that I couldn't take my food to go because we were not heading back to the hotel.

The ingredients were all fresh and delicious. This nutritious, filling meal gave me the boost I needed for my long day ahead as a tourist in Washington, D.C.

As an added bonus, I tried bubble tea for the first time! Interesting stuff...

I wish we had a Sprig and Sprout near my house.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bettyboop1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprig and Sprout also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Sprig and Sprout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing