We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed here August 20 while visiting local colleges. Location is great--walking distance to Farragut Metro, White House and Mall, and George Washington University--also to Founding Farmers Restaurant (make a reservation!) We arrived extremely early and staff made a great effort to put us in our room as early as possible although it was long before check-in time. Nice buffet breakfast in morning; coffee and tea in lobby all day, I believe, and free cookies in the afternoon. Very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher-floor rooms are nice to lessen the noise from all the motorcades, but the hotel provides earp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear RPWBoston
We’re glad that you enjoyed the hotel, rooms and the staff! We agree that the team is absolutely superb. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    338
    80
    21
    11
See reviews for
514
359
63
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

made reservations for 2 rooms and specifically asked that they be connecting or next to each other. i confirmed that would be the case. when we arrived (both families each have 3 and 2 small kids) and we vacation together so we can get the rooms next to each other, unfortunately the rooms were not next to each other as confirmed the morning of my arrival.

the valet car service attendant was no where to be seen... when i asked at the front desk why someone confirmed these rooms and then when we arrive it's not the case the staff basically said 'things change'. well then, i'll change my perception of hilton/hampton to negative. (i'm also a diamond member in their reward program). if it wasn't the closest hilton property to the white house and national mall I would not stay here.

Lately i've been staying at marriott properties and close to becoming platinum and then why would i stay at another hilton property with these missteps.

Room Tip: the layout of the floors is not a hallway. try the corner rooms that end in a '4'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illdo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Illdo C
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for all of the inconveniences you encountered during your time with us. We will be sure to address your concerns with our staff and management team to ensure that the necessary improvements are made. Again, we apologize and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had our two granddaughters in tow for a five-day stay. The accommodations were quite adequate. The small indoor pool provided a welcome respite for the girls after a hard day. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is terrific. The only drawback is parking. our advice is - leave the car at home and use Uber.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank oldeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The deskman was extremely helpful to us and asked us about places we ate and if he should recommend them for others. Rooms and hotel were clean. Great breakfast with lots to choose from. They take pride and care in this hotel. We will be staying there again on return trips. The beds were firmer than we like, but great hotel. For the area, price was reasonable and expected.

Room Tip: park in front of hotel, let them put your car in the garage and walk or use a taxi. We walked easil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The staff at the hotel could not have been friendlier. It was a wonderful experience! From the front desk to the servers, everyone was great. We definitely would recommend this Hampton Inn and are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Karen F
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and our first impression when we walked in.....beautiful! The decor was modern and very welcoming and the young lady who checked us in was so nice.

We checked in early and went to our room because I had a little work to do before we hit the town. We go out and come back later and upon entering our room...we notice a slight beeping or humming sound. We thought nothing of it until the next morning when I got louder. We called the front desk and she was so nice and changed our room.

The remainder of our time here was pleasant. Every staff member I encountered was sooo nice and helpful. The room was big for a 1 bedroom and clean as well. The lobby was very clean as well. I had no problem with wifi nor any noise. The breafast was great as well. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We wanted a nice hotel with an included breakfast near the museums. This Hampton fit the bill. The staff was very friendly and efficient, and the hotel seemed to have been recently updated. It was interesting how you had to scan your card to use the elevator as well as scan it to access the room. The room was very nice but had about the worst view of any hotel I've ever stayed. We looked out at a brick wall, an office building and huge HVAC units. Avoid room 1009! Some hotels charge premiums for views, this one should give discounts for bad ones.

The breakfast was very good and the staff did an excellent job of keeping everything filled and the area clean. Right before they closed the food section off, they went around and asked all the guests if there was anything else they needed. This was especially impressive since it was a busy Sunday with very few open seats.

Room Tip: AVOID room 1009! No idea what other rooms are good since we didn't see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toobusytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing