We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT place to stay while on vacation in DC.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is opened in 2013; so it is new and clean. The location is outstanding about 3 blocks to the White House and a block from the Metro's Farragut West stop. (About a 10 minute cab ride from Reagan National Airport) The prices were good compared to other places in the area. That may be because it is on the opposite side of the National Mall. What that means is you have a 7 minute Metro ride or a 15 minute walk to the Smithsonian Museums. The staff here are very friendly; the rooms are clean and spacious. One thing to keep in mind is that this hotel is downtown so it is busy at about 6:30 am......not really a good place to stay if all you want to do is sleep. They have a free breakfast each morning from 6-10 am and it is more than rolls and juice. They had eggs, bacon or sausage, potatoes, coffee, rolls, yogurt, hot and cold cereal and more. Saves a family of 4, like mine, about $35-40 a day. Nice valet service as well. I will stay here again when in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing H street in order to get more light. If you want to be in a more quiet locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S_Robbie014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Exceeds Expectations. 5-Star Service. Gracious staff at the desk and door. Lovely decor. Extra-clean rooms. Lovely soaps (delicate scent - not overpowering). Lovely sheets and duvet. Nice windows. Great location - so close to the White House. We arrived from a late flight in the rain and we were greeted at 3am as if it were the middle of the day. I can't say enough nice things. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Betty2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Location is right in the middle of DC and easily accessible from the airport via the metro subway. Walk to the mall or the White House. Starbucks right next door. Rooms are immaculately clean, staff is wonderful and breakfast is bountiful. This is a historic building which was adapted for use as a hotel--not your typical Hampton. Hhonors points are a bonus to this stay. This is my new home in DC whenever I'm in town.

Room Tip: Only rooms with a view are on the street side, but it is probably the ones with the most "urban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel hasn't been opened a long time and is a renovated office building. Rooms and décor is very modern. Food is typical Hampton Inn with pretty good selection.

Our room faced H Street which is very heavily trafficked and the noise level is quite high. We are used to an urban environment so we weren't bothered but others might be. Ear plugs were provided. I think the back side would be quieter but faces a wall. Get a room as high up as possible.

The location is just blocks from a lot of area attractions and only about 2 miles from everything including Arlington Cemetery and the Capitol.

The staff is well trained and very accommodating. A good hotel for business people and vacationers alike.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaneB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We selected this hotel because of it location close to the White House and the Metro Blue Line, but we quickly discovered that we found the perfect hotel in DC. The friendly and extremely helpful staff makes this property the perfect hotel for vacationers and business persons alike. Even though the hotel was full during our stay, the service was always fantastic. We will stay here again, and we recommended it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very nice hotel! The staff was very friendly even though there was some malfunction with the key makers. Our room was on the 10th floor with a view of some office buildings. I read some reviews that mentioned street noise but we didn't have any issues with it. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection. The only option for parking was the valet and it was about $35 a day. There is some nice places to eat pretty close. We recommend the Elephant & Castle Pub!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My son and I stayed here on a fun trip to DC. Great location, the metro station is around the corner. We went to a Nats game on a Tuesday night and felt completely safe riding back late after the game. Also, not a bad walk to the White House or the monuments (WWII, Lincoln, Vietnam). Also an easy train ride to the mall or zoo, as well as Metro Center which had a number of easy eating options (district taco was our favorite). Great continental breakfast in the morning! Nice bag checking service so we were able to leave bags at the hotel on our arrival/departure days so we were still able to see things on those days. The pool is tiny, but you're probably not there for the pool (although my son still enjoyed it).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelingsissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
628 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
979 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $126 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing