We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Establishment w/ the Best Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We really had a great stay this past weekend in May, 2014. Your hotel was super nice, so close to everything, making seeing the sites so convenient. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Most of all the friendliness that the staff provided was superb - outstanding... Greatly enjoyed the breakfast and the staff that provided us with breakfast. Over all could not have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,692)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,692 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn White House May 1- May 4th 2014. The location one block away from the Metro and two blocks from the White House was incredible. It made maneuvering around the city very easy. You can even jump on the metro from DCA and be at the hotel in 15 minutes. Being so close to the White House was great. We walked by it every day and even saw the Presidential Motorcade on our last night going to the Correspondence Dinner.

The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful. We had the continental breakfast everyday and someone working in that area always made an extra effort to speak to her and make her laugh. The front staff went out of their way with directions and recommendations to ensure we had a great trip. Joe worked the front desk our last night helped us to a great restaurant and got us sorted for our departure the next morning. I wish I knew more of the staff's name to mention them directly.

I've traveled extensively with my job for 15 years and would rate this as one of my best vacation hotel experiences. I would stay here next time I am on vacation or on business due to the experience we had.

Highly recommend!

Stefany M.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imsassymolassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great location. Close to Mall, White House and Metro station. Small rooms but fine for two if used primarily for sleeping. Very acceptable light breakfast and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Forget the pool; small and uninviting. Would definitely stay here on subsequent trips to DC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Excellent hotel, the interior designing, the comfy rooms, the wonderful employers and the delicious breakfast. I wasn't expecting such a grand entrance. I loved it. I will definitely stay the next time I visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors to the front of the building didn't have a good view at all. But the receptionist...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice hotel overall, in good location if you are visiting the sites near the Mall. There was constant loud noise outside the hotel during the night, hum of large machinery. Not sure if that was temporary or common occurance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed one night on business (5/5/14). Great location for business or pleasure. Hotel was very clean and fresh. Room was spacious and had all the bells and whistles. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was great and the to go bags are fantastic if you need to grab something to go. Rate was a bit high ($369 during the week) but will likely stay here again on future business trips.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wso32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Positives:
Excellent location, nicely furnished, fairly new, friendly staff, good food in walking distance, no need for a car though valet staff were fast and helpful in fetching my stored baggage (no charge) and the car with no notice.

Negatives:
Smells - elevator smelled slightly skunky, room smelled faintly of body odor when I first checked in (I sprayed deodorant a few times to mask) and the bathroom smelled like cigarette smoke.

Noise - clattering outside from garbage collection, though ear plugs are conveniently provided on the bedside table.

Small room, don't recall seeing a fridge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCLimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#31 of 142 in Washington DC
752 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 142 in Washington DC
500 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#55 of 142 in Washington DC
917 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $153 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing