We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way a hotel should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The way a hotel should be”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I have never stayed at a hotel where every employee, even down to the Valet and Housekeepers were kind and extremely helpful! The front desk clerk Portia was the most outstanding front desk clerk I have ever encountered. My husband and I were blown away by the service here and she shined the brightest. If you plan a stay at this hotel and want to be blown away by detail, efficiency, and a glowing smile ask for Ms. Portia. The next delight was the breakfast and breakfast staff. Angela in breakfast made breakfast pleasant and the food was delicious. My room was cleaned spotless daily which you do not get often saying at hotels. I cannot say enough good things about this Hotel. Keep up the good work Hampton!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DebandTom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    397
    98
    32
    21
See reviews for
604
434
74
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for four nights and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It began with the front desk staff and continued to the staff who served in the Continental Breakfast area. Even the valet staff at the front door greeted us every time even though we didn't use that service.
The location is within walking distance to almost everything and the rooms are clean and of reasonable size. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the hotel and it was a little noisy from the street sounds. Has a very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordoWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertoRico
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Everything in the hotel was perfect . Clean rooms and bathroom . Good size rooms. Angela and Laura made a perfect team every morning in the breakfast room , we feel like home, and good selections of fruits, bread and eggs every morning. In the beautiful lobby coffee 24/7 and cookies. We definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fournierSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Thank you Hampton inn. What a fabulous hotel, an excellent location (5 minute walk to White House or metro) very good facilities including laundry room for guests & the breakfast is basic, but filling. A special thank you to Portia - an outstanding employee. She made us feel welcome right from check in and no request was too difficult. Will stay here next time I'm in DC.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed there 2 nights and everything was great, nice clean rooms and very friendly staff. The location was perfect as you can get around to the main attractions by foot or with metro or bus, super central location. Great stay, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a great place to stay in DC. Rooms are comfortable, staff is very friendly, and breakfast is better than expected. We were there just a short stay - one night - but were very pleased by the experience.

Room Tip: We had a corner hotel which was quiet, but overlooked an office business - thank goodness for the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My entire family loved our stay at Hampton Inn. Everyone was very accommodating plus the rooms were quite reasonable. Our favorite staff was Angela! She's the BEST :) she always greets you with a bright smile and takes time in getting to know the guests and never fails to make sure they feel right at home :D

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna071990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
744 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
875 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing