We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stunned by service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #11 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunned by service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here early January for a week with my family. This hotel is beautiful and worth every penny! It's a few blocks away from the White House and other monuments, which was perfect for my trip. The rooms were cozy and cleaned spotless daily. What stood out the most however, was the front desk and breakfast staff! Everyone was so friendly. My family and I fell in love with Portia at the front desk. She helped us with dinner recommendations every night, tour info, directions, cab service and she even gave my kids gummy worms once we checked in! I was blown away by how helpful and pleasant she was. I must say, if we are ever in the DC area again we will definitely stay at this Hampton Inn! And because of the wonderful service, my family and I will only stay at Hampton Inn's..PERIOD!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShayanaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear ShayanaO,
Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments on our hotel and staff. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your visit - including the Portia :) I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of our team. I know they will enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    324
    76
    20
    8
See reviews for
490
335
58
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wylie, SC, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The service in this hotel is excellent and that includes every employee I dealt with-front desk, valet and baggage, breakfast, cleaning. The manager is doing a fantastic job. Portia at the front desk is fantastic. The value of the facilities and convenience are excellent. Great lobby and breakfast area, very clean rooms and hallways, nice amenities. Close to White House and Washington monument and metro. Many restaurants in the area. I recommend Siroc (Italian) on 15th and Blackfinns on 16th.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Hotel stay was very welcoming. Upon my arrival Portia & Joe greeted me with a smile and personalized attention. When traveling on business all you want to do is get to your room. They let me know where I could get something quick to eat, where everything was located, and remembered my name every time I walked past the front desk! Hotel room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Ebony B
We’re glad that you enjoyed the hotel, rooms and the staff! We agree that the team is absolutely superb. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to D.C.
Jadranka Belajic
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My experience began with a warm, sincere, look me in the eye greeting from both Joe and Portia at the front desk. There's nothing like authenticity and true caring shines through both of these terrific individuals. The hotel is really nice. Stylish and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and both ladies running the breakfast area were super professional and friendly. It was quite crowded and they handle the guests with grace and smiles. The room was comfortable and quiet despite being very close to the elevator. Every person I encountered demonstrated and "extra mile attitude" from the valet/doorman to front desk to breakfast support team to the kind, enthusiastic manager who came by to see if we needed anything. My colleague and I were overwhelmed by this unforgettable experience. The highest levels of customer care and a true WOW factor can be found at the DC White House Hampton Inn. Thank you and I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 568kimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Upon arrival during winter storm I was greeted by a very friendly and very helpful front desk agent. The room was very clean and well appointed. The free breakfast was better than expected and was clean and well stocked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Walter D
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please come see us again soon.

Jadranka Belajic
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Amazing hotel! Fantastic design and decor combined with the comfort of accommodations and great breakfast. Location is perfect, staff friendly and helpful, especially Joe (night shift). It's a perfect stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LD7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limeira, SP
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The location is terrific, two blocks from White House, walking distance from the memorials of Wars and Lincoln memorial.
The room is big and very clean, the bathroom is spotless.
The staff is really friendly and helpful. The breakfast is included and very good.
There are lots of good restaurants near the hotel, the best is Café Soleil, one block from the hotel, there is too the Elephant and Castle, an english pub very nice and the food is very good.
On the evenings when we arrive from street, there is hot cider and cookies, a lovely touch in a cold day.
The only negative thing about this hotel is the heat that is very noisy, and during the nigth when the temperature drops the heat works automaticlly, is strange a new hotel has a noisy heat in the room.
I love Washington and intend return in the future and certainly I´ll stay in this hotel again
Cida

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,830 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#31 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing