We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Blue Bell, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Joe at the front desk was super informative and extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were cleaned every day and the housekeeping staff were very efficient. Hotel was great for the price which included a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    390
    96
    31
    21
See reviews for
595
426
73
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel has been converted from a Newspaper office building to a hotel. It has a new modern look to the lobby and rooms. Valet personnel are waiting at the door for arrivals. It is valet parking only. The parking garage across the street.
Rooms are large, we had the king size bed. The pillows were large and hypoallergenic. We were on the 11th floor overlooking the back alley and the buildings behind the hotel.
Ice machines are located on the 3 – 7 floors. 8 – 11 have to go to the other floors. Unfortunately, 6th & 7th floor ice machines were not working either!
Breakfast is the normal fair of eggs, meat, cereals, breads, Danishes, fruit, juices, teas and coffee.
Only a block away from the White House. Easy walking distance to the National Mall and Metro.
Some annoyances, cyclic buzzing sound coming from the roof. Ran the fan on the A/C continuously to drowned out the noise. Garbage truck pickup noise every morning between 4:30 – 6:30 AM.
Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and the location.

Room Tip: Floors on 3 through 7 have ice machines. Rooms in the back of the building will hear the garbage tru...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has recycle bins in the hallways by the elevators and separate waste baskets in the rooms to recycle.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a great place to stay, particularly if your goal is to use your room just as a place to sleep. The rooms are modest, but very clean and nicely decorated. We walked to all the sites easily and the front desk staff was very helpful with directions. Joe, in particular, was so professional, welcoming, friendly and helpful. A true professional and exceptional at his job. Breakfast was a nice plus. Highly recommend this hotel and will go back the next time we go to D.C.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We checked in for a recent long weekend, intent on sightseeing. We chose this hotel primarily for its location close to metro stops and it's proximity to Pennsylvania Avenue and the National Mall. We arrived by AMTRAK at Union Station, strolled over to the Red Line Metro, and in minutes were just 2 blocks from the Hampton.

Everyone on the staff was extremely friendly and helpful from check in to check out. We had a few questions and minor problems, and each was dealt with quickly and with professionalism. We loved the comfortable lobby, and it was so nice to sit there when enjoying the well presented breakfast. There's a coin op laundry area in the lower level. Easy to use, and a great convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very good stay. Location was fabulous. Hotel and room was clean, price was reasonable. Complimentary breakfast option was a plus. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay in this location our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I obviously booked this hotel based on location which worked out great. The staff was was very helpful. My biggest complaint would be the breakfast. For such a "premium" advertised hotel would have liked to seen a better offering. The scrambled eggs for example were not really edible and obviously not made fresh or maybe made from powder. Just would think a better menu would be in order for this higher end hotel. Great stay otherwise would recommed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank team4beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a great hotel for a number of reasons. It appears new and very clean and the location is about a block from the White House. The staff is exceptional. I travel a lot and the staff can make or break a stay, this staff made my stay. This will be where I stay when I travel to DC in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
736 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
484 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,161 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
845 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing